Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

Posted by Caitie F on March 22, 2013

Title: Mistborn243272
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Softcover: 657 pages
Pub Date: July 2006
Publisher: Tor
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

Once, a hero arose to save the world. A young man with a mysterious heritage courageously challenged the darkness that strangled the land.

He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and even the Lord Ruler himself. A new kind of uprising is being planned, one built around the ultimate caper, one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine, a street urchin who must learn to master Allomancy, the power of a Mistborn

Review

I am a big fan of fantasy, but there are so many really long ones that I don’t read it as often as I would like to. This book has been in my house for over a year and I have heard such great things about the book so I picked it up.

It is the best fantasy book i have ever read. I mean EVER. Better than any of the individual A Song of Fire and Ice books. I read it very quickly and hated having to put it down to do things like eat, sleep and work.

It is the kind of book that sucks you in. It feels like you really know Vin and the rest of the crew – but especially Vin. You get what they are doing and why. When Vin starts to learn about her  abilities, the reader feels the excitement and fear. When she rushes in to help others even though it is dangerous, the reader wants to cheer her on out loud. When Kaiser hides part of his plans, all the reader wants to know is what his end game really is.Vin is the real star and watching her grow from a, untrusting thief to a member of the team and strong Mistborn is a wonderful journey.

Each time I stopped reading, I had to remember that the rest of the world didn’t care about what was going on in the story. It stays in your thoughts and in your dreams.

There was more than just an amazing set of characters, the plot was also fantastic. There was a lot of action and fighting, but it was really easy to follow what was happening. In many fantasy books, it is hard to follow those scenes, but the way the magic works and the way the book is written makes it all easy to follow. It sounds like something little, but it increased my enjoyment of the book a lot!

If you like fantasy at all and have not read this book yet, do yourself a favor and pick it up. Pick it up for those you love that love fantasy too. They will thank you for it. It may be long, but it goes so fast and is worth it.

5 Responses to “Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson”

  1. Amanda said

    I am so so happy to hear this review!!! This remains by far my favorite fantasy novel. I love the whole trilogy, but this one in particular holds a special place in my heart. And I adore Brandon Sanderson’s writing – the way he makes friendships!! You so seldom seem group dynamics like this in books. And for a group of, essentially, thieves and con-artists, he made me love every single one of those guys, and I know you know how anti-con-men I tend to be when I read books. Any time I see someone love this book I just get giddy. 😀

  2. […] Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Fantasy – Mistborn by Brandon […]

  5. […] Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment