Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Posted by Caitie F on January 13, 2010

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Hardcover: 374 pages

Publisher: Scholastic Press

ISBN: 0439023483

Rating: +++++

Summary (from flap):

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 an 18 to participate in the annual Hungar Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

16-year old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before–and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she become a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to stat making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Review:

I knew The Hunger Games would be great. I knew it would make me think. I did not know that I would cry by page 24. This girl has given up herself for her sister, an ultimate sacrifice. In return, she gets the ultimate sign of respect from the people of District 12. A gesture that means thanks, admiration and goodbye to someone you love. A gesture that she deserves, She says that, for most, family devotion only goes so far on reaping day. But she is not most. With this, Suzanne Collins brings us a character to root for, hope for, and one that will captivate us through the entire series.

The Hunger Games is a prime example of what young adult books can and should be. It makes the reader think, it is well-written, and it brings characters and places to life. It tackles issues like loyalty, courage, and hope. It even contains a love story that is tragic and true.

I hope there is never a nation so powerful that they can pick 24 children and give them a death sentence. And they continue that every year and force all of their citizens to watch it. And no one speaks up because they are too scare. Especially when the poor people are more likely to be forced into this situation – children paying because their parents couldn’t make a better life. I would hope that in our world other nations would come to the aid of the people or that a rebellion could take this system down.

The choices that Katniss must make are too difficult to imagine. First, she chooses to save her sister. That is one I could see – she has protected her younger sister for so long and knows that she couldn’t last past the first day. Then she has to choose whether or not she should trust Peeta, the boy who saved her long ago and loves her now. She has to choose whether or not she will kill others to save herself, if she even can. Her tough and high pressure choices continue throughout the book and she keeps making the tough and right decisions that she must make to save herself and her allies.

One death in particular really got to me and those who read the book will know what I am talking about. The compassion and love that Katniss showed toward her fellow tribune member showed the humanity that the Capitol was so against. It was a beautiful scene and I think it showed us so much into her character.

I had originally planned to try to read this book slowly and take notes..but I couldn’t. I devoured it in a few hours today. It was one of those books I couldn’t put down. I cannot wait to read the next two books. I don’t know why I waited this long to read this book!

Just some of the other links to review – again, if I missed your please let me know!

Mrs. Magoo Reads
Pop Culture Junkie
The Zen Leaf
Medieval Bookworm

This counts towards the
2010 Young Adult Reading Challenge
and
2010 TBR Challenge

8 Responses to “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins”

  1. […] 4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins […]

  2. […] is my main list 1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (done and reviewed!_ 2. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee 3. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell 4. Three Cups of […]

  3. […] book is almost as good as the first, which I raved about here. Collins is an extraordinary writer who takes young adult books to that next level. I didn’t […]

  4. […] 1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 2. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee 3. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell 4. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson 5. The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory 6. Inkspell by Cornelia Funke 7. Eragon by Christopher Paolini 8. Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot 9. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen 10. Boot Camp by Todd Strasser 11. Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli 12. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson […]

  5. […] Glass Wars by Frank Beddor 2. Mister Monday by Garth Nix 3. Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor 4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 5. Grim Tuesday by Garth Nix 6. Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli 7. Absolutely Maybe by Lisa Yee […]

  6. […] you recommended to people most in 2010? I recommended The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins to a ton of people this year. Four people have borrowed my copies of the books and I just gave the […]

  7. […] It was my second book of the year and I am still telling people they should read it!  It was an excellent story with excellent writing. I am very excited about the movie! 2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins […]

  8. You have a choice if you should require your son or daughter to consider previous pages.
    This mode permits you to produce the storyplot of your respective favorite Superstar through filmed sequences
    and matching shots. constructed in China and Taiwan, some from the worst in the perpetrators.

Leave a comment