Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Some of my favorite blogs

Posted by Caitie F on January 19, 2010

I have seen several posts about book blogs lately and have been introduced to a lot of new ones lately, so I thought I would highlight some of my personal favorites. I haven’t highlighted all of my favorites, just a few. I may do this every couple weeks.

The Zen Leaf

This blog is done by Amanda and the first thing I will say is that we don’t often agree on reviews (ex. The Book Thief, Maus, American Gods). That said, her reviews are what got me reading her blog in the first place. She has a great writing style and puts her opinions out there, even if others have disagreed with her!

She is running the 2010 GLBT Reading Challeng. I didn’t join officially, but I am going to be looking at everyone’s list and reading some more GLBT books. She also does Death book hour with Death and Baby Death – something that I won’t explain too much, you just need to see it! All around, a great blog!

Reading With Tequila

Jennifer runs this blog and the first thing I loved about it was the design. I also love the challenge tracker on the sidebar, I think it is so well-done and check it out a few times a month! She does great, to the point reviews and I love her rating system! We don’t have the same taste in books, so I have found some new things to read on here.

She also does a great weekly post that you will start seeing here soon (I hope!) “What Should I Read This Week” where she puts four possible books and has others vote on what she should read…and tell her why. I love the idea! All around, this is a great blog!

Chasing Ray

This is done by Colleen Mondor who is reviewer for Booklist, Bookslut, Eclectica Magazine and the Voices of New Orleans. She is opinionated and outspoken -a great combination. She is one to talk openly about issues in books and publishing. She has made me think about these issues and what I think needs to happen to improve the industry. If you do not read this blog already go read and comment – there are always great discussions in the comments!

Steph Su Reads

This blog won the Book Blogger Appreciation Week’s Best Writing Award for a reason. Her reviews are fantastic and I love reading everything she writes! I have also picked up books based on her reviews. It is a fun one to read!

Reading in Color

Reading in Color is a book blog that reviews YA books about people of color. I do not usually pay attention to race when I reading books, but this blog makes me think about it a little more. The reviews are good and it is a great place to go to in order to read more diverse books. I thoroughly enjoy reading everything she has to say, even if I do not agree 100%. I am so happy that I found this blog.

Sophisticated Dorkiness

The title of this blog is enough for it to be on my favorites list! There is more going for Kim’s blog other than just the name! She does the Blog Improvement Challenge, which is a challenge to improve your blogging (which I am doing this year!). She has good reviews and a great site!

As Usual, I Need More Bookshelves

Elizabeth runs this great blog. Yes, like the others she has great reviews. I also love her set up. She also does 451 Fridays. To borrow her words,

“451 Fridays is based on an idea from Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. In his novel, a group of people (Bradbury calls them Book People) are trying to keep the ideas found in books alive. Instead of actually saving the books, the Book People each “become” a book – memorizing it, word for word, and passing it down to the next generation. 451 Fridays asks what books you feel passionate about. What book do you think is so important that you would be willing to take on the challenge of “becoming”?”

I enjoy reading it every week!

You’ve GOTTA Read This!

I love Sandy’s writing style. I also love reading what she has to say every Monday about movies. She has a very wide variety of tastes in books and movies, which makes her blog accessible to many. To keep it simple, Sandy’s blog makes me smile…(almost) every time I read it.

Bermudaonion’s Weblog

Kathy’s blog is another fun one to read (ok, they all are or I wouldn’t love them, but still). She holds great contests and makes it easy to find them with a sticky post. She reviews a VERY wide variety of books and I have picked up several based on her reviews. She does posts called ‘Our Life in France” which is a great way to get a little glimpse of another country.

S Krishna’s Books

Another blog that reviews a very wide variety of books. She opens my eyes to a lot of books that I haven’t read, or sometimes even heard of, before. She is very honest in her reviews, which I appreciate. The only problem is that she reads so much and she reads it so fast that I will never catch up with all of the books she has recommended. It is a great blog. She won the BBAW award for Cultural Blog, so if you like reading about other cultures, she has a lot of great books for you!

Do you read any of these? Did you just check them out for the first time? Do YOU have favorites that I might not know about? Let me know if you do! I would love to hear from you.

8 Responses to “Some of my favorite blogs”

  1. Amanda said

    Aw, you’re sweet. I think it’s okay for people to disagree about their opinions on books, as long as they aren’t insulting others with different opinions. πŸ˜€

  2. I’m so flattered that you included me in this list. Thanks so much for your kind words.

  3. Ari said

    Thank you for mentioning my blog! I’ve just discovered your blog but I intend on following it and checking back. I want to see you in the publishing industry and it meant so much to me to hear that when you do your interviews for a job in the publishing industry that you mention the need for more books about POC and more accurate covers. You are gonna go far!

    I’m glad to hear you disagree with me sometimes, complete agreement is never good =) I love Steph Su’s blog, she’s an amazing writer/reviewer! I really enjoy S. Krishna’s books, you’re right she reviews so many books. So does theHappyNappy Bookseller, she write short reviews but to the point and she reads and reviews a new book almost everyday! I’m jealous πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you so much for mentioning my blog! I’m glad you’ve decided to join the Blog Improvement Project this year — I’m optimistic that having Jackie as a co-host is going to make it even better this year.

  5. […] Posts Some of my favorite blogsLove, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli « Love, Stargirl by […]

  6. Jennifer said

    Thank you for adding my blog to your list and for the very kind words. I just friended you on GoodReads and saw you live 24 miles away from me. That’s awesome. I don’t know many NJ book bloggers.

  7. Nicole said

    This is a great list. There are only a very few that I am not familiar with. Thanks for spotlighting them.

  8. Caitie F said

    I am glad other people are checking out some of these blogs – they are great! Jennifer – I don’t know many in NJ either, that is cool you are so close!

Leave a Reply

 
