Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor – a Mini Review

Posted by Caitie F on January 13, 2010

Title: Seeing Redd

Author: Frank Beddor

Hardcover: 371 pages

Publisher: Dial Books (Penguin)

ISBN: 0803731554

Rating: +++

Review:

This was the second book in the Looking Glass Wars series. I loved the first book, but this one was a little of a letdown, a problem that can often happen in the second book of a trilogy. It felt like a transition book. The first book stood on its own, this one did not. The ending did not feel like an ending, it felt like one giant cliffhanger. I found that I was still sitting and waiting for the climax, which will happen in the next book. I don’t like it when authors do that. It is one reason I like the Harry Potter series so much. Each book is a complete story and stands on its own. Yes, there are things you want to know that you won’t find out until the enxt book, but the stories do wrap up well at the end of the books.

That said, I still think that this book was at least okay. The advances in the plot were surprising and interesting. It was still a fun book to read. I love the Wonderland that Beddor has created. Redd is an excellent main villain. Arch…not so much, but he is just a side character so I can forgive it to some extent.Since he seems like he will be a central character in the next book, I hope there is more depth added.

I look forward to reading ArchEnemy and hope that I enjoy it more than I enjoyed this book.

Did you like this book more than I did? Tell me why!

2 Responses to “Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor – a Mini Review”

  1. […] 3. Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor […]

  2. […] Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor 2. Mister Monday by Garth Nix 3. Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor 4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 5. Grim Tuesday by Garth Nix 6. Love, Stargirl by Jerry […]

Leave a Reply

 
