Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 60,474 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 98 other subscribers
  • Top Posts

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Posted by Caitie F on June 27, 2014

Title: Wonder11387515
Author: R. J. Palacio
Hardcover: 315 pages
Pub Date: Feb 14, 2012
Publisher: Knopf
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

Review:

How did it take me so long to read this book? EVERYONE needs to read this book. I mean it. Every single person should read this book, especially students and parents.

I went into this book just knowing it was super good, sos I am not spoiling anything for you (but if you want to talk about things that spoil things, feel free to in the comments. This is a warning to all those that haven’t read it yet).

But I will say this – the characters are amazing and complex. They feel SO realistic. I know kids like all the kids in the book. They talked like kids. They acted like kids. Some are good, some are bad, but most are just trying their best to get through the day.

I am seriously in love with this book. It is one of my favorites, not just of the year, but ever. I have heard kids are reading it for school which makes me so happy. If we could all learn from this book, especially when we are young, this world would be a much better place.

Did you read and love this book too? Let’s talk in the comments!

 

6 Responses to “Wonder by R. J. Palacio”

  1. I read it with my 10-year-old in our mother/daughter book club and I not only loved the book, but loved the honest discussion the girls had after reading it.

    • Caitie F said

      I would love to hear the discussions of the book with young readers. That is so great that you are in a mother-daughter book club with her – I wish those were a thing when I was growing up.

      • I wish so too! It seems to be a (great) growing trend now. I think Wonder was one of the best discussions we had because it brought up issues of bullying and some really interesting questions (like, do you think you’d be the one to sit down at the lunch table and help someone who was struggling? Why or why not?)

  2. I agree – this book is a must read!

  3. Joan sustarsic said

    Made me feel so many emotions–and the kids were so real! Loved this books

  4. barthopkins said

    Total agreement. I love this book and my kids love this book.

Leave a comment