Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Posted by Caitie F on June 26, 2014

Title: The Night Circus 9361589
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Hardcover: 387 pages
Pub Date: Sept 13, 2011
Publisher: Doubleday
Rating: ++++

Summary from pub:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

Review:

I can’t believe it took me so long to finally read this book! I have heard about it from friends and family for over a year now and I knew I would like it, I just had to take the time and read it.

I am so glad I did.

The book is pure magic. The writing is incredible and the story is completely spellbinding. I am not a person who likes circuses, but I want to go to that circus. I want to eat the food that was described. I want to see the magic show and visit the clouds. Since I can’t I may just reread my favorite passages again.

The competition is a really interesting set up and Celia and Marco were fascinating characters. It was really cool to see their different styles of magic, how they learned, and how those powers were used. They both lived such isolated lives.

I read this for my book club and we all loved it, which doesn’t happen very often. Many of us agreed that all of the side characters made the world feel more real and intricate.

The one things i will say is that it does get a little confusing with some of the time jumps and you have to pay attention to what year it was since it is not chronological. I had to go back a couple times to see where things took place in relation to other events.

This is a truly wonderful book and I can’t even talk about what I loved so much because it would give too many things away. If you haven’t read it yet, you should.

 

Leave a Reply

 
