Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

It’s Summer – Time to Read More!

Posted by Caitie F on May 31, 2011

So yesterday was the unofficial start of summer. After spending the day at a BBQ and a pool, I am ready. I have a feeling it is going to be an extremely hot summer here in NJ, but I am still excited. Summer is by FAR my favorite season. Not because of vacation (mostly since I haven’t been on vacation in two years!), but because of the weather and summer attitude.

You know, the attitude where people take things a little slower. When friends seem to reconnect. Where everyone is reading just a little more by the pool or at a beach (This is a book blog after all).

One thing I will be doing with my reviews is adding “A Great Summer Book!” at the very top. even above the title in my post!

1. It is fun to read. All genres or styles can be fun to read. Sad books are fun to read sometimes. They just need to be something that made me excited to read it every day.

2. They usually aren’t too heavy. And I don’t mean the weight of the book. I love books about heavy topics and I will read them year round. They are some of my favorite books. But when I think “summer read” that is not really what comes to mind

3. It can be because of when they were released. But that doesn’t mean every book that comes out in the summer is a summer book. My best example is Harry Potter. Those books will always be in my head as a summer book. I have so many memories of getting the books the day it was released and sitting in a hammock or outside reading. The world was reading it together and it was the ultimate summer read.  Circumstance made it that way

Ok so those are my only qualifications.Not too many. Hopefully by seeing what books I choose will make it more clear.

At some point, I want to go back through my old posts and add it and make it a category..but that may not happen for a couple weeks!

Are you excited about any summer reads this year? Let me know in the comments!

3 Responses to “It’s Summer – Time to Read More!”

  1. Amanda said

    I can’t wait to live up north again so that summer becomes a pleasant time rather than a time to hibernate and never see the sun…

  2. I’m excited about Silver Girl by Elin Hilderbrand!

Leave a comment