Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Life in Agenting – 1

Posted by Caitie F on February 4, 2015

In addition to my assisting and audio duties, I am now also working to take on my own clients. It is REALLY exciting and I am still pinching myself sometimes! I am also incredibly busy and won’t be posting as much. You may see more lists and mini-reviews.

But I do want to talk about agenting, so I am starting a new series I am calling “Life in Agenting”, where I will talk about being an agent, what an agent does, what I look for specifically and more. I may even get some other awesome people to guest post as well.

The first thing I wanted to do was talk about what I am looking for, in general.

In adult fiction, I am looking for commercial and upmarket fiction with great characters and superb writing. I am especially interested in historical fiction, mysteries/thrillers of all kinds (if I got a cozy series or detective series I would be very happy, drug cartels are not really for me) magical realism, romance, and book club fiction.

In YA and NA, I am looking for romance, historical fiction, mysteries and thrillers, and contemporary books with diverse characters. I love funny/nerdy books.

In nonfiction, I am looking for memoirs that make people look at the world differently, narrative nonfiction that’s impossible to put down, books on pop culture, theater, current events, women’s issues, and humor.

I am NOT looking for middle grade, picture books, science fiction and fantasy at any age, westerns, or military fiction.

This book blog has hundreds of reviews, so you should be able to get an idea of my taste, but again, I am not currently looking to represent science fiction or fantasy. For submission info, head over to Liza Dawson Associates.

Now tell me, what do YOU want to see in the Life in Agenting? What do you want to know more about? Let me know in the comments.

One Response to “Life in Agenting – 1”

  1. paulaacton said

    Strange coming across your post as I had just been talking on my FB page about ordering a book about finding agents lol, sadly my book would not be for you as it is a dark medieval fantasy if I had to try to pigeon hole it into a genre but good luck with your new venture.

Leave a Reply

 
