Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Abhorsen series by Garth Nix

Posted by Caitie F on December 24, 2014

Title: Sabriel, Lireal, Abhorsendownload
Author: Garth Nix
Paperbacks: 364, 527, and 396 pages
Years Publisher: 1995, 2001, 2003
Publisher: HarperCollins
Rating: +++++

Summary of Sabriel from goodreads:

Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him.

With Sabriel, the first installment in the Abhorsen trilogy, Garth Nix exploded onto the fantasy scene as a rising star, in a novel that takes readers to a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

Review:

If you have not read this series yet, I HIGHLY recommend you head to your library or bookstore and get it right now. It is one of the best fantasy series I have ever read. I will write this review without spoiling things, because I went in knowing very little and enjoyed it more because of it.

The world-building is amazing. From the Old Kingdom to Death, it is all fantastic. When reading it, I felt like I was there and it was amazing. This world is detailed and so creative. Anyone who wants to write fantasy, should read the series just for that.

The characterizations are all really fantastic too. They are all complex and have to make some really hard decisions that readers don’t always agree with, but it makes them better and more full characters. If you are an animal lover, there is something for you too.

I felt like I didn’t just read these books, I devoured them. I put everything down to read. I stayed up late. I ran to the library when my copy was in.

Now that i am done with the original series, I am going to wait a couple months to read the prequel.

This is a great series for both readers and writers if you like fantasy at all. It may be labeled as YA because of the ages of the characters, but it is one of those YA books that would appeal to everyone.

Leave a Reply

 
