Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Posted by Caitie F on December 23, 2014

Title: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie6218281
Author: Alan Bradley
Hardcover: 374 pages
Pub Date: Apr 28, 2009
Publisher: Delacourte Press
Review: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

It is the summer of 1950–and at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, young Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison, is intrigued by a series of inexplicable events: A dead bird is found on the doorstep, a postage stamp bizarrely pinned to its beak. Then, hours later, Flavia finds a man lying in the cucumber patch and watches him as he takes his dying breath.

For Flavia, who is both appalled and delighted, life begins in earnest when murder comes to Buckshaw. “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.”

Review:

I have suddenly heard about this book from a couple of different places, so i thought i Would get it from the library. I have been in the mood for a historical mystery, and this sounded great.

It was a really fun book to read. I loved the setting of a small English town and all of its characters. Readers can see the town and all of its characters so clearly, in both the place and the time. All of the townspeople that are included in Flavia’s search were delightful and I really hope they show up in later books.

The mystery itself was also well-written. It was one of those the reader can start to figure out before the character, which is always enjoyable. Things came together well, and there was quite a bit of suspense at the end. Don’t read the last 100 pages unless you have the time to finish or whatever else you have to do will just be put off.

Flavia is a…precocious child, which is why I both liked her and why it took me so long to get into this book. I wasn’t totally invested until almost 70 pages into the book and am very glad i didn’t put it down. Her voice takes some getting used to. She loves chemistry, and that angle is what kept me hooked.

Overall, this was a really enjoyable book, even if it took me a little while to get into. I look forward to the other books in the series!

Leave a Reply

 
