Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Posted by Caitie F on November 10, 2014

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why1217100
Author: Jay Asher
Hardcover: 304 pages
Pub Date: Oct 18, 2007
Publisher: Razorbill
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Review:

It took me a really long time until I finally read this book, but I am so glad I did. It was so well-written and powerful. It is another one of those books I hope all teenagers read. It shows how even the little things you do or say can have a huge impact on someone. It reminds readers that words and actions do matter.

There has been so much said about this book, that I am not sure there is much I can add. It made me think about what I said and did when I was younger and what was said and done to me and others I knew. It is not a book that could be read quickly. Stopping and thinking will happen.

If you haven’t read this yet, you should!

One Response to “Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher”

  1. I read this with my book club and didn’t love it as much as everyone else did. Yes, your actions can affect other people but I felt like Hannah blamed everything on other people.

Leave a Reply

 
