Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

Posted by Caitie F on August 27, 2014

Title: The Winter Sea8495173
Author: Susanna Kearsley
Paperback: 527 pages
Pub Date: Jan 1, 2008
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

In the spring of 1708, an invading Jacobite fleet of French and Scottish soldiers nearly succeeded in landing the exiled James Stewart in Scotland to reclaim his crown.

Now, Carrie McClelland hopes to turn that story into her next bestselling novel. Settling herself in the shadow of Slains Castle, she creates a heroine named for one of her own ancestors and starts to write.

But when she discovers her novel is more fact than fiction, Carrie wonders if she might be dealing with ancestral memory, making her the only living person who knows the truth-the ultimate betrayal-that happened all those years ago, and that knowledge comes very close to destroying her

Review:

A couple years ago, I was told that this is a time travel historical romance and was immediately interested. It just took me far too long to get it.

And now I have to read every other book this author has written because it is one of the most enjoyable books I have ever read. I loved the history. It is a time period I knew nothing about, but I was so interested with it the moment it was introduced. The time travel aspect was not what I expected, it was better. It was like it was two books – the present day and historical story overlap, but both have their own characters, storylines, and brilliance

Carrie was a fantastic main character. I loved reading about what it was like to write a book for this character and how strange she sometimes seemed to those around her. I also loved her agent and family, even if they were just side characters. All of the secondary characters added so much to the story and the setting. I felt like I was in that small Scottish town in both time periods as i was reading because it the scene and characters were so rich.

There is also romance in the story and it is realistic and swoon-worthy. The characters are well-matched together and it develops naturally – in the historical time period and the present dayy. I was rooting for the romance and it made me want more!

This is just a fantastic book and you should all read it!

 

2 Responses to “The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley”

  1. […] read and LOVED The Winter Sea, so now I want […]

  2. […] LOVED the first book I read by Susanna Kearsley, THE WINTER SEA, and this book was just as good. This book goes with the first and is kind of a sequel, though it […]

Leave a Reply

 
