Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Posted by Caitie F on August 21, 2014

Title: Goldfinch17333223
Author: Donna Tartt
Hardcover: 771 pages
Pub Date: Oct 22, 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Rating: ++++

Summary from pub:

It begins with a boy. Theo Decker, a thirteen-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don’t know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his unbearable longing for his mother, he clings to one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art.

As an adult, Theo moves silkily between the drawing rooms of the rich and the dusty labyrinth of an antiques store where he works. He is alienated and in love-and at the center of a narrowing, ever more dangerous circle

Review:

I finally finished this monster of a book a month ago, and it has taken me that long to figure out how I feel enough to write a review.

I liked that book, and I liked it a lot. The writing had me reading sentences several times because they were just that good. The language was beautiful, while still moving the story and being clear.

Theo was a strong character, often really unlikable, but still interesting. Unlikable characters can be some of the most fascinating characters and I would put Theo in that group. There were plenty of times it became too much and I was just super frustrated with him and wanted him to just get his shit together, but it always made sense in the bigger picture.

It wasn’t a perfect book though. There were sections where it really dragged, especially in Vegas. Yes, he needed to befriend Boris for things to move forward, but I really hated Boris. He was not unlikable but interesting, he was just so unlikable. It took me over three weeks to get through the middle section that featured Boris.

This book is not one of my favorites of all time, but I did like it and think it is worth a read. You may often be frustrated. You may want to give up. The writing made it worth it, which is not something I often say.

2 Responses to “Goldfinch by Donna Tartt”

  1. I liked this book a lot but it’s not one of my favorites either.

  2. Linda said

    The length of this book gives me pause. I’ll probably read it someday.

Leave a Reply

 
