Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I Need to Read

Posted by Caitie F on August 19, 2014

Thanks as always to the lovelies over at The Broke and Bookish for hosting!

This week’s topic is books people have been telling me to read. This is going to be a MUCH different list than it would have been two months ago, because I have recently read five or six books that people have been telling me to read for a long time! So I have to dig a little deeper for this one and there is not much YA on here.

1. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

24280

It is my husband’s favorite book. It is one of my favorite musicals. But…it has, no joke, over forty pages on the Paris sewer systems. I want to read it…but how be it be a great book if you can skim hundreds of pages!

2. 11/22/63 by Stephen King

10644930

We bought this book the day it came out and I really love Stephen King. I just need to finish my library books! And not request anymore…

3. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

15796700

This is a newer book, but everyone I know who has read it has loved it.

4. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach

32145

 

One of my best friends read this book a couple months ago and mentions it every time I see her! I have a feeling once I read it I will want to read ALL the books Mary Roach has written.Though I hate the cover.

5. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente

9591398

Another friend of mine LOVES Catherynna Valente. I have read some of her adult work and she is incredibly talented. I think I will love this series even more.

6. Night Owls by Lauren Roy

18281997

A friend of mine is the editor of this book, so obviously I want to read it. But I also want to get into urban fantasy and several people said this is a great starting point!

7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

1885

I know the retellings. I fangirled over Lizzie Bennet Diaries. But I still haven’t read the source and everyone says I must!

8. The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma

9766078

All of my friends that like science fiction and fantasy have told me to read this book. It sounds right up my alley too!

9. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

38447

SO many friends have told me to read this. I know I will love it, so I should just get on it already!

10. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

17199504

Another book that has been recommended by a ton of IRL friends.

 

Do people constantly recommend any of these books to you? Do you recommend any of these books to me as well? Let me know in the comments!

5 Responses to “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I Need to Read”

  1. I’ve only read one of those – 11/22/63 – and agree you need to read it.

  2. Lili said

    I have to read Cat Valente too!!! Also, I have a copy of BONE SEASON if you want to borrow it. tweet/text with the answer (:

    P.S. I will never read a Stephen King book. Him being scary and me being the biggest wimp in the world just doesn’t work.

  3. Linda said

    The Handmaid’s Tale is one of my favorite books. You need to read it.

  4. I cannot believe you haven’t read Pride and Prejudice! You must get to that one! It’s a bit of work getting into it – much different style, being a classic – but once you do, it’ll be worth it!

    I have The Girl Who Circumnavigated … too. Haven’t had time to read it, but have heard lots of great things!

    Thanks for visiting PBN! 🙂

  5. Someday I plan to read Les Miserables. I own it, but I haven’t quite been able to work myself up to actually reading it yet. 🙂

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Leave a Reply

 
