Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

Posted by Caitie F on August 12, 2014

Thanks to the lovely bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish for hosting!

My TBR is a mile long, so I start looking at it a little more closely. Do I REALLY want to read this book/series? Here are ten I am starting to be on the fence about…

1. The Diviners by Libba Bray

7728889

This may surprise a lot of you. I ADORE Libba Bray. I think she is a brilliant writer. I just don’t want to be in the middle of yet another ongoing series.

2. More books in the Chicken Soup for the Soul series.

Yep, I have read SO MANY of these books. It is my guilty pleasure series, my go to when I want a little happiness or tears. But they are just so cheesy and cliche that I feel like reading them makes me lose my reputation (not even sure why I am admitting to it here!).

3. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

5043

These books are monsters – about 1000 pages each! But I have heard such wonderful things about them. But that is a LOT of pages.

4. Fallen by Lauren Kate

6487308

this is still on my list because i have heard good things from some people I trust, but I do NOT like angel books.

5. Classics

I have been working on the 1001 Books You must Read Before You Die list for a while (and am not doing so well on it). Part of me wants to give up because there are SO many books, but I wouldn’t have read some books and authors that have become my favorites without it.

6. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

15790842

I have read so many great reviews of this book and I think I will like it, but it is long and seems like it will be very time consuming.

7. Richelle Mead’s series.

Again, a lot of people I trust love these books, but I feel kind of over vampires. I don’t know if I should start. And if I do, there are a LOT of books in the series!

8. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

10692

This is another really long book that i Haven’t gotten to. On this one, I feel like I just missed it by not reading it when it came out. People talked about it so much then. I may love it, but I missed all the buzz and excitement.

9. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

7402393

This has been on my list for years and I almost took it off a while ago, werewolves tend to not be my thing. But then I read The Inventor’s Secret and was blown away, so I am thinking I want to try her previous books.

10. The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293

I have heard so many hit and miss things about this series that I should just decide for myself, but I just don’t pick up the first book when looking for my next read.

What should I do? Should I keep them on my list and my shelves or are there any i can just give up on?

3 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read”

  1. Linda said

    I was pretty meh about The Historian but I really enjoyed The Selection series. But I understand no another series!

  2. I liked Life After Life but it’s very different and took me a while to figure out.

  3. Joan Stanbrook Sustarsic said

    I think you should read Life After Life!

Leave a Reply

 
