Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Blind by Rachel DeWoskin

Posted by Caitie F on August 6, 2014

Title: Blind18667798
Author: Rachel DeWoskin
Hardcover: 416 pages
Pub Date: Aug 7, 2014
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Rating: ++++++ (it gets an extra one)

Summary from pub:

Imagine this: You are fourteen, watching the fireworks at a 4th of July party, when a rocket backfires into the crowd and strikes your eyes, leaving you blind. In that instant, your life is changed forever. How do you face a future in which all your expectations must be different? You will never see the face of your newborn sister, never learn to drive. Will you ever have a job or fall in love? This is Emma’s story. The drama is in her many small victories as she returns to high school in her hometown and struggles to define herself and make sense of her life, determined not to be dismissed as a PBK – Poor Blind Kid. This heartfelt and heart wrenching story takes you on Emma’s journey and leaves you with a new understanding of the challenges to be faced when life deals a devastating blow.

Review:

This book. The moment I finished reading it, I found out how to contact the author and sent her an email. I have never done that before. But a book has never done this to me before. Instead of a traditional review, I want to post part of what i sent her

“I got an advanced reader’s copy of your book Blind and felt like I had to write to you. When I was 12, I had an accident and lost vision in my right eye. My senior year of high school, I lost vision in the other. It wasn’t total, but it was to the point that I need the cane when I went out and lost all of my newly gained independence.

I am lucky, I got a new cornea and can see out of one eye with a contact. But for almost a year, I couldn’t see and I felt so many of the things Emma felt. I wish this book had been around then. I have the best family and they were really there for me, but sometimes I felt like they didn’t get it. I had good friends, but couldn’t really talk to them anymore. I felt like I always had to be strong and never get upset. If I had this book to listen to, I would have felt less alone. I would have learned a lot and been less afraid of going for that cornea transplant and done it sooner.

I am so glad that this book is going to be out there for anyone who is in my or Emma’s situation. Her thoughts and feelings were so accurate – you really did an astounding job. I could relate to wanting to just open her eyes once more. I wish just once I could see my husband with both eyes. That I could drive again. I wish I didn’t wake up in the middle of the night weekly from a nightmare that I was totally blind.

But this book makes me appreciate what I have – a job, the best husband in the world, and one eye that usually works pretty well.”

This book obviously really affected me, but I think it will affect others just as much. In the book, a classmate of Emma’s dies and no one will talk to the teenagers about it. The community wants to protect them, but they want to talk about what happened, why, and how they can look out for each other. Teens feel that all the time.

It is also about her struggles with her family and friends, which you don’t have to be blind to relate to. Readers who are shy will get her. Readers who have had friends that drifted away when times got hard will be able to relate. The struggles in the book are not just the struggles of being blind, they are the struggles of being human.

This is one of my favorite books of the year and I hope you all go out and buy it.

Leave a Reply

 
