Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Posted by Caitie F on July 7, 2014

Title: Landlineland
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Hardcover: 308 pages
Pub Date: July 8, 2014
Publisher: St Martin’s Press
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Review:

I have loved everything Rainbow Rowell has written and especially love that she writes both adult and young adult books. I would love to see more authors with that kind of versatility!

One thing Rainbow Rowell does so well is she makes you feel so much while you are reading her books and this was no different. I laughed and cried. I cared about these characters like they were real people because they felt like real people! I got angry with Georgie sometimes, but I also understood her and how hard it must be to balance everything. Neal was totally justified in leaving without her, but I wanted him to keep trying. They had real, believable flaws and that made them both amazing characters.

But the premise is even cooler – she could use an old phone and call Neal of the past when they were in college together and almost didn’t make it the first time after a big fight. It was a great way to set the book in two different time periods and show their story. As a married person, it really made me think about communication in my own relationship and how everything changes (in really awesome ways for the most part).

This is another smart, funny, and touching book from Rainbow Rowell. I am sure I am not alone when I say that I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

2 Responses to “Landline by Rainbow Rowell”

  1. I love Rowell, too, so you can be sure I’ll be reading this book.

  2. Lili said

    I’m really glad you liked this one! I enjoyed it, but didn’t love it as much as, say, FANGIRL. I couldn’t relate to aspects of it because of my age. I’m too young to truly know what it’s like to be married and what that type of love entails, you know? But with that said, I LOVED the story in this and I love that she’s got graphic novels coming out for girls in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

 
