Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Top Ten “Gateway” Books in My Reading Journey

Posted by Caitie F on April 1, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish .They pick awesome things to talk about!

I have always been a reader, so this was a little hard for me. When i really thought about it, I could come up with the books that got me hooked, and the books that got me interested in new genres.

1. Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McClosky

29291This was my favorite picture book growing up and it really got me interested in stories!

2. Matilda by Roald Dahl

39988

Matilda was my first Roald Dahl book and it taught me what it meant to get lost in a book. I had to read more after that!

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

TKAM

I read it for the first time in fourth grade and fell in love. I have reread it at least six times and every time I enjoy it even more. It is one of the most amazing stories ever told.

4. Baby Sitters Club by Ann M Martin

38418

This was the first series I ever read and it got me hooked. I read every single book that my library had in the series and I loved it!

5. The Giver by Lois Lowry

giver

This is the best book I read for school and instilled me with a lifelong love of dystopian books.

6. Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling

1668766

This series had the biggest impact on me by far. I am a HUGE Potter fan and have lots of friends because of it. I am even going to LeakyCon this summer!

7. The Stand by Stephen King

6506258

The Stand was the longest book I had read when I read it and among the first truly adult books I ever read. It got me hooked on Stephen King and books where not everyone gets a happy endings.

8. Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561

I never really went away from young adult, but at the beginning of college I read less of it. This was the book that really brought me back in and got me into the nerdfighter community.

9. Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass

363851

I didn’t read much middle grade until I read my first Wendy Mass. It ioen my reading horizons up to an entire age group of imaginative stories!

10. 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

 

452208

 

I will never read all 1001 Books. I will be happy if I get to 250. This book has opened up my eyes to so many great books I would have missed without it. There is a reason so many of these books are classics.

3 Responses to “Top Ten “Gateway” Books in My Reading Journey”

  1. Just added Jeremy Fink to my tbr list 🙂

  2. I actually haven’t read any of these, but I love seeing your journey through all of them! Someday I’ll have to read The Giver!

  3. I am so jealous you are going to LeakyCon! And YAY for another fan of The Stand!! I mourned when that book was over!

Leave a Reply

 
