Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Posted by Caitie F on March 25, 2014

Title: Hyperbole and a Half17571564
Author: Allie Brosh
Paperback:: 384
Pub Date: Oct 29, 2013
Publisher: Touchstone
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures

Words

Stories about things that happened to me

Stories about things that happened to other people because of me

Eight billion dollars*

Stories about dogs

The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness

 

Review:

I never read Allie Brosh’s blog, but I was familiar with her art, I have seen the clean all the things image in that form and many others. I went into this book knowing not very much.

And I loved it. It was funny. It was smart. It was a little heart-breaking.

It has an insightful look at depression. Of course it isn’t how everyone experiences depressions, but it showed how it can affect a person. These serious chapters made the book. Otherwise, it would have just been a silly book of stories about her dog. Instead, it is one of the best books of the year.

There are a lot of really funny stories about her dog. There were times I had tears streaming down my cheeks from laughing so hard.

Everyone older teenager and adult should read this book.

One Response to “Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh”

  1. Book Review: Hyperbole and a Half | The Leather Library said

    […] Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh […]

Leave a Reply

 
