Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

2013 Goals – How Did I Do?

Posted by Caitie F on December 30, 2013

I just went back to look at my goals I posted in January of 2013. Let’s see how I did!

Book related goals

Read 100 books – Did that one! As of now, I am at 152 and might get a couple more!
Read 10 nonfiction books – Fail! I only read 5. Probably due to all of the reading I did for work. But I really liked those five.

Blog more regularly. I have a lot of discussion posts ideas, but I feel like I don’t get enough traffic to do them. – I kind of did this one. I have a lot of review posts scheduled into next year (one for June already), but my posting for 2013 was down and I didn’t do any discussion posts. Still have the ideas, but feel discouraged.

Health goals

Get back to 150 pounds. – nope. Lost some weight, but not enough. Got an UP band for the holidays, so hopefully that will help

Now that I have more flexible insurance, get some new doctors. – I am giving this a yes. We got a new primary doctor who we LOVE. I still need a geneticist and a hip doctor, but got over the biggest hurdle. It makes such a difference when we like and trust who we have!

Become stronger. Losing weight is all well and good but I am sick of feeling weak. Since I am all about concrete goals
– be able to bench press more than the bar. This goal may change if I find out the barbell isn’t that hard, but I haven’t done and bench presses since high school. – not even close. I am still a weakling
– be able to do a pull up. I haven’t been able to since I was a kid. – Ha!

Do more active things, especially in spring and fall. It can be going on hikes, playing basketball together, just be outside more. – Another kind of. We did do some more active things, just not as much as I would like

Other goals

Get our finances in better shape. – It is better, but not where we need to be. 

Go on vacation. – Did this one! We went on a cruise to the Bahamas and it was wonderful!

Cook more new things! – Completed! We cooked at least 30 new things this year!

So overall, I think I did pretty okay this year. Could have done better, but we all can. How did you do on your goals for the year?

2 Responses to “2013 Goals – How Did I Do?”

  1. I agree – it sounds like it was a great year! Here’s to an even better 2014!

  2. Isa said

    I NEED to read the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson, they sound incredible. I’ve heard a lot of comparisons between The Testing and The Hunger Games but I’ve read quite a bit of positive reviews so I’m curious to try it. Whoa that’s quite the number of books you read, congratulations! I hope you achieve all your health/other goals these year, I definitely need to work on getting fit and planning out a vacation.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

