Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor

Posted by Caitie F on December 11, 2013

Title: Prep School Confidential 13411546
Author: Kara Taylor
Paperback: 304 pages
Pub Date: July 30, 2013
Publisher: St Martin’s Griffin
Rating: ++++

Summary from pub:

Anne Dowling practically runs her exclusive academy on New York’s Upper East Side—that is, until she accidentally burns part of it down and gets sent to a prestigious boarding school outside of Boston. Determined to make it back to New York, Anne couldn’t care less about making friends at the preppy Wheatley School. That is, until her roommate Isabella’s body is found in the woods behind the school.

When everyone else is oddly silent, Anne becomes determined to uncover the truth no matter how many rules she has to break to do it. With the help of Isabella’s twin brother Anthony, and a cute classmate named Brent, Anne discovers that Isabella wasn’t quite the innocent nerdy girl she pretended to be. But someone will do anything to stop Anne’s snooping even if it means framing her for Isabella’s murder

Review:

I have been saying for a while that I want more YA mysteries and thrillers. It looks like they are coming! I have read several that I still need to review and it turns out they are pretty awesome.

I was especially interested n this title because it not only has a mystery, but that mystery takes place at a boarding school, one of my favorite settings. And this boarding school is full of the rich that might or might not have something against the scholarship students and are hiding more secrets than just this one.

The mystery kept me guessing the entire time and it didn’t come out of nowhere, so on that front it works! That is always my worry when I read any mystery – that there is no way for the reader to figure anything out. I had my suspicions and ideas, and at one point I picked the right person, but I immediately went on to another possibility and dismissed that.

The stakes were high, so the excitement level stayed high and made it hard to stop reading. Is Anne can’t figure this out, she might be blamed…or worse.

Anne is a pretty good character. I like that she comes in as an outsider. She isn’t from their area and comes in the middle of the year, so no one really brings her in. It makes her work harder to find things out and use her brains and personality. Her antagonists are also so much better because of the environment.

The biggest criticism I have is the romance. I would love to see a YA mystery with zero romance, but that probably isn’t going to happen. I think it could have been more interesting without a guy she likes helping her out and being a distraction. There was an attempt of a triangle that was just annoying.

Luckily, that was the smallest aspect of the book and the main focus was on the mystery. If you are a mystery fan, you should go out and get this!

4 Responses to “Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor”

  1. I love boarding school settings too. This sounds terrific to me!

  2. […] Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] I want more people to read Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor […]

  4. […] really enjoyed the first book in this series, Prep School Confidential and realized I never read the other two books in the series and I have no idea why! So I changed […]

Leave a Reply

 
