Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Posted by Caitie F on December 10, 2013

Title: Allegiant17406183
Author: Veronica Roth
Hardcover: 544 pages
Pub Date: Oct 22, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Rating: ++++

Summary from pub:

What if your whole world was a lie?

What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?

What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

Review:

This series is interesting. I thought the first book was just okay when most people loved it. I really liked the second. I loved the third and lots of people don’t. So maybe I am just weird. Or maybe I am the one that is right 😉

Tris is a fantastic character in this book. She questions what is really going on. She is not trusting. She still always tries to do the right thing instead of the easy thing. She is so incredibly complex and has been deeply affected by everything that has happened to her and everything she has learned. I love this. Sure, she isn’t happy and there is less romance, but when so much has happened, how can that all be?

Half of this book is from Four’s perspective which was really interesting. It shows how different he and Tris are and it shows how much his parents screwed him up. I was not a huge fan of him in the first two books, and he was still frustrating, but seeing things from his perspective made me understand him more. It also makes me more angry at him when he does really stupid things because as a reader, you see where he is wrong and know that he is smarter than that. But it makes his character so much more complex which I adore.

There is so much I can’t say because I don’t want to give any spoilers, but this book is a great ending to this series. Is it all roses and happy? No. But everything fits the characters, especially what happens with Tris. Whether you like it or not, it fits who she is and it fits in this world she lives in.

I think you should read this series if you are a fan of dystopian. Now that it is done, I think it is a good series. It isn’t great, but it is enjoyable and I would recommend it to many people.

Leave a Reply

 
