Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Posted by Caitie F on November 21, 2013

Title: The Name of the Windname of wind
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Paperback: 672 pages
Pub Date: March 27 2007
Publisher: DAW Hardcover
Rating: ++++

Summary from pub:

This is the riveting first-person narrative of Kvothe, a young man who grows to be one of the most notorious magicians his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic,

Review:

I have been reading this book on and off for over a month. It isn’t that it wasn’t good, it was, it just was not a book you could speed through. The writing is so beautiful that I found myself reading lines over again, which doesn’t happen to me often. Rothfuss has built such a stunning world that I had to take my time in there and really immerse myself at first. But then the story started to really pick up and I could not put the book down.

If you love epic fantasy and haven’t read this book yet, what are you waiting for? Kvothe is a brilliant character full of flaws and brilliance. The entire story is told to the Chronicler by an older Kvothe, so even when things are the most tense, you know at least he will be okay. It made me wonder about an unreliable narrator, but once he criticizes himself, it isn’t an issue.

I loved reading what these stories became. As the reader, you know that x happened because he did y and z, but others turned these stories into tall tales and suddenly he is an epic hero for he ages. His intelligence and cunning make him one of the best ever, but not even he could be or do what some of them say.

This is an absolutely wonderful book and I can’t believe it took me this long to read. The ending makes me want to pick up the sequel immediately, but I am going to make myself take a break before I jump back into that world.

I actually have avoided reviews for this book before reading it and before writing this review because I didn’t want anything to be spoiled and I didn’t want anything to taint my original thoughts. I am really excited to see what others have to say!

Have you read this book yet? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

 

2 Responses to “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss”

  1. […] from The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Possibly because I was reading the book for two […]

  2. […] The Name of the Wind was an incredible book and I need to read more – he has a way of writing that takes the reader completely out of their own world and into his. […]

Leave a Reply

 
