Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Posted by Caitie F on November 7, 2013

Title: The Moon and More16101126
Author: Sarah Dessen
Hardcover: 384 pages
Pub Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Review:

I am always happy when a new Sarah Dessen book comes out, and when I saw that this was not just a romance, but also about family, I was excited. My favorite Dessen books are about family and friend relationships just as much as the romantic relationships. I was especially excited that it was about someone going into college because I think it is the time when your life changes the most.

This did not let me down at all! Emaline is amazing. I would want to be friends with her and her two best friends. She is really nice, loyal, witty, and extremely smart. She would get along really well with Rory Gilmore, which makes her awesome. She isn’t perfect, she gets annoyed by her insane family and the snooty people she has to deal with, but does it how all of us would. I felt a connection to her and cheered for her in every moment.

The romance in the book was great too. I thought Luke and Theo were both realistic guys and could see why she was interested in them. They both had flaws and infuriated me, but that just meant they weren’t perfect dream guys.

The most interesting storyline was the one with her father and half-brother. Whenever I saw her half brother’s name on the page, I had to smile. He was often the brightest spot of her day and it came through to being some of my favorite parts of the book. Her father was infuriating. I agreed with so little of what he did. People like him make me crazy! How Emaline deals with him and watching their relationship evolve was an unexpected highlight of the book.

I loved the story about Morris also. Everyone knows his type – seems like a slacker, but really does try hard and is a really good guy. I cheered for his success and kept hoping. Emaline’s best friend Daisy also stood out as a great opposite to Emaline and their friendship just worked.

This is one of Sarah Dessen’s best books and I highly recommend it.

Did you read this one? What did you think? Let me know in the comments

One Response to “The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen”

  1. I need to make the time to try one of her books. They sound right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

 
