Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

Dewey’s Read-a-thon 2013 Sign Up and Book Pile

Posted by Caitie F on October 6, 2013

dewey1-300x300

 

The fall read-a-thon is less than a week away! I have been planning on doing it for a while now, but I wanted to wait until I was absolutely positive to sign up. I am so excited I get to do it!

I still think I have never done the spring one, so this is a once-a-year thing for me and I love it. I think that time in the spring is always just so busy.

I am already getting my plans together. I need to figure out my snacks still, but I am going to cook pork carnitas tacos which will be in the slow cooker all day. Yum!

I already have my two book stacks too. I have a primary stack and a secondary. Here is the primary stack, but it is missing my starting book, The Name of the Wind. It is what I am reading now and I want to finish it and know i won’t do that during the week.

Usually, the read-a-thon is used at least partially to catch up with my reading goal for the year. Thanks to work, I have already gotten there and even bringing my goal up to 150 isn’t a huge stretch if I keep my current position. So i just get to read for fun (and think about the 30 review I have to write).

Here is the primary stack

read 1

Joyland by Stephen King: I learned in my first read-a-thon that Stephen King is a perfect choice for the event. I have read rave reviews about this book, including one from my husband, who wrote this awesome post about his top ten Stephen King books.

Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan: I have been meaning to continue this series for a while and the fourth book is coming out this week. Will be a great fast, fun read-a-thon book.

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan: i got this at BEA and have been wanting to read it for a while. It got long-listed for the National Book Award! Also, i adore David Levithan.

Will in Scarlet by Matthew Cody: A fun middle grade fantasy.

How to Love by Katie Cotugno: I have seen so many rave reviews for this book, so I need to read it. I thought it sounded only okay because I do not like pregnancy books, but enough people have talked about it, so I need to read it.

OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu: This looks fantastic to me!

Look at Me by Jennifer Egan: I am in the middle of this book too, so if I don’t finish it by then, I will finish it early in the day

Witches and The Mystery Box: Two short story collections! Sometimes it is fun to take a break and read a couple short stories and these are two different genres I love.

read 2

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon:This doesn’t seem like a good read-a-thon book, but I might pick it as my last book so I can start it.

Time Between and Time After TIme by Tamara Ireland Stone: This series has some time travel and romance. Why wouldn’t I read it?

Not Exactly a Love Story by Audrey Couloumbis: This lhas been on my shelf for a while, so I might check it out nad see if I like it.

The House at the End of Hope Street by Meena van Praag: I always have a couple books that are out of my usual genres, this is one of them but it looks really wonderful

Afterparty by Ann Redisch Stampler: This looks really good and easy to get lost in

Minders by Michele Jeffe: I need a little dystopian as a possibility!

No Place by Todd Strasser: I started this one at work and knew it wouldnt work there, but it is SO GOOD. The only reason it is in the secondary stack is that there is a lot to think about.

The Selection by Kiera Cass: I have wanted to read this since it came out. Maybe I will get to it.

 

What in my stacks should I prioritize? Let me know in the comments.

8 Responses to “Dewey’s Read-a-thon 2013 Sign Up and Book Pile”

  1. I’m so happy to see Afterparty in your stack of to-reads! So nice to be included in such a treasure-trove. Enjoy!

  2. Linda said

    Selection and Two Boys Kissing are excellent reads. I like short, engaging books for the readathon. I have a ton of graphic novels in my pile!

  3. Katrina said

    A great selection of books there, I’ve never read Levithan but put Wil Grayson, Will Grayson on hold at the library just the morning. Who knows it may have arrived in time for the read-a-thon.

  4. Good luck with reading. Hope you get some books of that pile!!

  5. Love the idea of having a primary and secondary stack. Great list of books and your “snack” is very cool.

  6. […] Caitie @ Pub Writes […]

Leave a Reply

 
