Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil

Posted by Caitie F on August 16, 2013

Title: Life in Outer Space17469929
Author: Melissa Keil
Hardcover: 320 pages
Pub Date: August 1, 2013
Publisher: Peachtree
Rating: +++++

Summary from pub:

Life in Outer Space is a romantic comedy about a movie geek & the dream girl he refuses to fall in love with. Sam Kinnison is a geek, and he’s totally fine with that. He has his horror movies, his nerdy friends, World of Warcraft – and until Princess Leia turns up in his bedroom, worry about girls he won’t. Then Camilla Carter arrives on the scene. She’s beautiful, friendly and completely irrelevant to his plan. Sam is determined to ignore her, except that Camilla has a plan of her own – and he seems to be a part of it! Sam believes that everything he needs to know he can learn from the movies. But perhaps he’s been watching the wrong ones.

Review:

If you are geeky/nerdy at all or appreciate things that are, you need to stop what you are doing and go buy this book. It felt like this book was made for me and all my friends, only that characters are Australian.

It was sweet and funny. I loved all the references to science fiction and fantasy pop culture. Did I miss some (or maybe even a lot) of it? Yes, but it didn’t take away from the awesomeness of this book. It also gave me a list of movies I wanted to watch or rewatch!

I loved Sam and his friends. They are strange, but they are all really awesome. Sometimes, you want to sit Sam down and explain how life is, but he is a good guy with so many great qualities. Adrian had me cracking up, I wanted to be friends with Alison, and was intrigued by Mike and saw how he was a great friend. They all felt so realistic, I kept thinking they would show up at my house for a game of Dominion.

And Camilla Carter. She is what I wish I was like in high school. She is confident, funny, and totally okay with who she is. She fits into every group. She isn’t flawless but her flaws and insecurities make her that much better. In real life, she would probably  be my best friend.

What really makes this book stand out is that it is a romantic comedy from the male perspective. It was really funny and there was no insta-love. It made me want to read other YA romance books from the male point of view because it is something we don’t see very often.

This is one of the best books i have read all year and i am giving it to all of my friends to read. If you love a good young adult romantic comedy, anything nerdy, or just a great coming of age story with wonderful characters and a plot you can connect to, read this book!

Leave a Reply

 
