Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

World Book Night 2013

Posted by Caitie F on April 24, 2013

Last night was World Book Night in the United States. If you are not sure what World Book Night is, here is what the official website says:

“World Book Night U.S. is a celebration of books and reading held on April 23, when 25,000 passionate volunteers across America give a total of half a million books within their communities to those who don’t regularly read. In 2012, World Book Night was celebrated in the U.S., the UK, Ireland, and Germany and saw over 80,000 people gift more than 2.5 million books.”

Giving out a great book to people in your community who are non-readers or light readers, yeah that sounds pretty awesome. I signed up and was super excited when I got accepted and I got to give away one of my favorite books Looking for Alaska by John Green.

I kind of forgot how I hate talking to strangers in public. But I was determined to get over it!

My amazing and wonderful husband and I first went to Rtia’s Italian Ice. I asked the people working there if it was okay if we gave out the books. They said sure and one of them is a light reader, so I gave her a book. It was a little cold, so there wasn’t much traffic and we only stayed there for a little bit.

We then headed to a new frozen yogurt place. This one is inside, is really new, and has been pretty crowded the couple of Tuesdays we have gone. On my way in to ask, I saw a group of four people and asked if they read. The mom saw John Green’s name and turned to her daughter and said “you really like him!” She had already read it. But her friend is not a reader and we convinced her she would like it. Score!

I went in and asked and they said yes, in fact, they had another World Book Night book by the register – I was not the first one there that night! I wish I had met this other local, but oh well. The young woman I talked to also didn’t read much, but thought Looking for Alaska sounded good.   Jason came in with the rest of the books and got frozen yogurt and I got to work.

People were really nice! I just approached them, asked if they read much and told them about World Book Night. They all wanted the book! A lot asked what to do with it when they were done and I told them to pass it on to other nonreaders or light readers. Everyone I talked to was so nice!

I talked to another teenage boy who had read the book already and flashed me the nerdfighter symbol. but he convinced his girlfriend that she would love the book!

It slowed down so we headed to the library and gave out a couple books there. We didn’t run out completely, but I know someone who works with teens who don’t read much and he is giving the last copies to them tonight – he has been trying to nudge them to read for months and thinks an event and book like this might really help.

It was a great experience. Would i do it again? Maybe. A Tuesday night in April made it hard to find places in my area – not many people were out. Maybe I will do it in New York – I actually saw another giver when I was heading home last night. I would encourage anyone who is interested to sign up for the newsletter and be a giver next year!

2 Responses to “World Book Night 2013”

  1. Talking to strangers is easy when your talking about something you’re passionate about!

  2. So glad it went well!! Good job Caitie!!

Leave a Reply

 
