Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Happy Birthday The Great Gatsby!

Posted by Caitie F on April 10, 2013

88 years ago today, what many call the great american novel was published. Some people love it, and some people hate it. 

I am in the love it category. I read it in school and that did not ruin it at all – but i also had a fantastic teacher that year. It is one of my favorite books. Are the character likable? Not at all, but when the writing is that good and it says that much about our country and society, that doesn’t really matter.

Not convinced? I recommend you check out the Great Gatsby episodes of Crash Course English Literature with John Green. That link is a link to the entire Crash Course which is great, but the Great Gatsby episodes really resonated with me. And this youtube channel got me to rethink Cather in the Rye, one of my most hated books read in school…so that is really saying something!

I hope the upcoming movie does it justice. I always liked that there wasn’t a movie of it, but thought one could be made very well without ruining the book. I am hopeful and will go see it within the first couple weeks of opening. 

What side do you land on for the Great Gatsby debate? Do you love it? Hate it? Did you have a teacher that ruined it? Are you going to see the movie? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

 
