Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg

Posted by Caitie F on March 4, 2013

Title: Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality15703337
Author: Elizabeth Eulberg
Hardcover: 261 pages
Pub Date: March 1, 2013
Publisher: Point
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

Everybody loves Lexi. She’s popular, smart, funny…but she’s never been one of those girls, the pretty ones who get all the attention from guys. And on top of that, her seven-year-old sister, Mackenzie, is a terror in a tiara, and part of a pageant scene where she gets praised for her beauty (with the help of fake hair and tons of makeup).

Lexi’s sick of it. She’s sick of being the girl who hears about kisses instead of getting them. She’s sick of being ignored by her longtime crush, Logan. She’s sick of being taken for granted by her pageant-obsessed mom. And she’s sick of having all her family’s money wasted on a phony pursuit of perfection.

The time has come for Lexi to step out from the sidelines. Girls without great personalities aren’t going to know what hit them. Because Lexi’s going to play the beauty game – and she’s in it to win it.

Review:

Elizabeth is one of the two authors that I will buy any new book the day it comes out. Her books are smart, funny, and wonderful. I have loved every single one. Of course, that makes me nervous when a new book comes out because what if I don’t like it? That was not a problem here at all. I LOVED this book. I don’t know if I love it more than her others, but it is another perfect book.

As a girl with a great personality back in high school, it felt like this book was written for me. She talks about how a male friend who she likes describes her as having a great personality when he is trying to get a guy to ask her to a dance and how much that hurt. I know that feeling, but it was a close female friend. But it sucked. Having a great personality is awesome, but when you are in high school, you want someone to like you and that doesn’t cut it. I wish this book had been around when I was in high school, it would have made me feel better.

Lexi is ah-mazing (and yes, I typed that like Penny says it in Happy Endings because the regular way you say the word doesn’t do her justice). She is brilliant, funny, strong, and a fantastic friend.   She also has to deal with the pageant world and a mother who never listens to her. She starts off the book being awesome and she actually improves.At the end at a party, she gets to do something that I always wanted to do and say, but never had the courage to. It was just so satisfying to read.

This book was just brilliant. The way Elizabeth Eulberg showed a dysfunctional family and sister relationship was different but felt so real. I loved watching Lexi’s relationship with her sister grow and their ending was also very satisfying. Her friends were also just great secondary characters. Cam and Benny were pretty much opposites, but you could see why they are such good friends. They are the kind of friends that anyone would be lucky to have. Honestly, my only complaint is that we didn’t get to see a little more of them!

This is a fantastic book with wonderful characters, lots of humor, and lots of inspiration to the girls (and guys!) with a great personality. I hope that teens reclaim that for the awesome thing it is. I really wish I knew a teenager to give this book to because it is exactly what I wish I had to read when I was a teen.

Go get this book. You won’t regret it.

One Response to “Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg”

  1. I love Eulberg’s work too! This book sounds like one many young girls can relate too.

Leave a Reply

 
