Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

TSS: New Adult

Posted by Caitie F on March 3, 2013

tss-badgeThere has been a lot of talk about New Adult books lately – books that are for the 18+ age group, that take place in college or later, but still have some of the themes of young adult books. I have an interesting history with this idea, so I thought I would talk about it a little.

Way back in 2010, I posted a survey about 20-32 year olds and their reading habits. I asked if they read YA and if they thought that something was missing in the market. I thought there was, and it turns out that most of the people who responded agreed agreed. There wasn’t much between high school and married with kids. There were a few “girl moves to big city and finds love”, but not that many. I wanted to see if there was a market for these books and it turns out, there is.

As long as it doesn’t turn into sexy YA, it will be awesome, and I think it isn’t going to turn into that. There have already been some incredible books that fit into this category. I am going to go back through older posts and tag reviews that I think fit into this category. I also have a shelf on goodreads (link is in the sidebar) with books that fit into the category. Just to get you to know what I mean, I would include books like Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys and Just One Day by Gayle Forman, along with many others.

I am going to be really excited when some authors start writing specifically for this category. I think we are going to see some great books.

Of course, those of us in our twenties and above are still going to read incredible young adult books, it will just bring more books into the market, which is never a bad thing.

There is one issue I have though and that is the name. New adult seems condescending to me. It seems like someone who is older picked out what it was going to be called, instead of having someone in the age group think of something creative that didn’t feel undermining.

I look forward to seeing new adult grow and transform. What do you think of this new age group? Let me know in the comments!

 

One Response to “TSS: New Adult”

  1. I don’t think I’ve read a book that would fit in that genre but I’m anxious too. I’m hoping to make it to the bookstore this week to buy Out of the Easy.

Leave a Reply

 
