Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie

Posted by Caitie F on January 22, 2013

Title: Dead Man’s Folly16427
Author: Agatha Christie
Paperback: 240 pages
Pub Year: 1956
Publisher: Berkley
Rating: +++

Summary from goodreads:

Sir George and Lady Stubbs are having a garden party with a twist. Ariadne Oliver, the mystery author, is organizing a Murder Hunt game. She fears real danger, and phones Belgian detective Hercule Poirot, whose magnificent mustache droops for six weeks after murder and disappearance foil police.

But it is never finished with a murderer .. I, Hercule Poirot, do not give up. Who really strangled Girl Guide Marlene in the boat-house, took away the comic book with the clue look in the haversack? Did the girl’s old grandfather drown by accident? Where did decorative Lady Hattie Stubbs vanish? Was she simple-minded as some believe? Hercule solves all

Review:

This is the next book I read in my quest to read all of Agatha Christie’s books in no particular order. I do love a good mystery and I just think reading her books is so much fun! While this book was fun, it was impossible to figure out yourself and because of that, it lost a star.

Since there book is older, I found myself laughing out loud at some of the things Poirot says. Early in the book, he talks about how bad women look in shorts and how they should never wear them. That is quite different than thoughts today! It made me slightly worried about the book, but it was the only comment like that so everything worked out.

There is a very large cast of characters in this book, but they are so different in personalities and style of language that it was very easy to follow them. I am always amazed how well she can write even the most minor character.

I thought I had part of it figured out, but it was one of those that you could never really know because there was a line here or there that describes what Poirot sees and that is the key to everything.

That said, it didn’t take that much away from the book, it just wasn’t my favorite Agatha Christie book. It didn’t help that I didn’t really know Ariadne Oliver at all and she just seemed like a tool in the book.

What is your favorite Christie book? Let me know in the comments so I know what to read next!

One Response to “Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie”

  1. I’ve only read one of Christie’s books and I just thought i was okay.

Leave a Reply

 
