Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Posted by Caitie F on January 12, 2013

Title: Evermore3975774
Author: Alyson Noel
Softcover: 301 pages
Pub Date: Feb 3, 2009
Publisher: St. Martin’s GIffin
Rating: +++

Summary from goodreads:

After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone’s entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact to suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school — but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste.

Damen is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy. He’s the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head – wieling a magis so intense, it’s as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she’s left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is – or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she’s falling deeply and helplessly in love with him

Review:

I don’t know if my opinion of a book has ever shifted as much as it did while I was reading this book. I read the description and thought “Wow that is awesome! The auras are something new and different. It also has a tragedy she is dealing with so she is going to go through a journey with her grief. I really really need to get to that book!”

Then about fifty pages in I was ready to stop reading the book. The situation was like Twilight, only reverse. He help her shut everything out and that is why she was interested. And of course Damen is hot and perfect and is forgiven even when he is a lying jerk. It was making me furious. Her friends were tools of the plot and didn’t feel like real characters, which is always disappointing. But then I thought “I have been wanting to read this book for over two years, I need to finish it.”

So I kept on. I got frustrated with her friends and their lack of development. But then, about 100 pages from the end, it redeemed itself. ***SMALL SPOILER ALERT** Ever started to really deal with what is going on in her life. She makes BIG mistakes and learns from them. She actually asks for help!  **SPOILER ALERT OVER** Things finally matter and while it doesn’t redeem the book completely and the ending pissed me off a little with the non-answers, it made me see why others liked the book.

The best part of the book by far was Ever’s sister Riley, who died in the crash but was still around and Ever could see and talk to her. The reader sees that there is so much more to her story than Ever was seeing and I wanted to know so much more. IT was an interesting look at the after life and choices you can make and I just wanted so much more of that and less of jerky-faced Damen.

For everything I disliked in it, I liked the character development when it happened. I liked the idea of the immortals, even though I wish there had been more details in this book. I am not going to read any more books in the series, but I am glad I finally read this. There  were cool aspects and the book made me really think about young adult book in general.

Have you read any books lately that you kept changing your mind about while you were reading it? Let me know in the comments!

2 Responses to “Evermore by Alyson Noel”

  1. This sounds a little too paranormal for me.

  2. […] 1. Evermore  by Alyson Noel 2. Yearbook by Ally Condie 3. The Walls of the Universe by Paul Melko 4. Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen 5. My Lucky Life in and Out of Show Business by Dick Van Dyke 6.  How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff 7. Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby 8. Youth in Revolt by C.D. Payne 9. The Longest Trip Home by John Grogan 10. Amazing Gracie by Dan Dye 11. Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon 12. Why We Suck by Denis Leary […]

Leave a Reply

 
