Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

Posted by Caitie F on December 1, 2012

2013tbrpilechall

I have tried (and failed) at this challenge for the last two years, but it is still a fun one so I am trying again in 2013!

This challenge is hosted by Adam at Roof Beam Reader.

Here are the rules – a little condensed.

1. Each of these 12 books must have been on your bookshelf or “To Be Read” list for AT LEAST one full year. This means the book cannot have a publication date of 1/1/2012 or later.  Caveat: Two (2) alternates are allowed, just in case one or two of the books end up in the “can’t get through” pile.

2.  To be eligible, you must sign-up with Mr. Linky and add updated links to each book’s review.  Every listed book must be completed and must be reviewed (doesn’t have to be too fancy) in order to count as completed.

3.  The link you post must be to your “master list”  This is where you will keep track of your books completed, crossing them out and/or dating them as you go along, and updating the list with the links to each review.

4. Leave comments on this post as you go along, to update your status. Come back if/when you complete this challenge and leave a comment indicating that you CONQUERED YOUR 2013 TBR LIST!  Every person who successfully reads his/her 12 books and/or alternates will be entered to win a $50 gift card from Amazon.com or The Book Depository!

5. Crossovers from other challenges are totally acceptable, as long as you have never read the book before and it was published pre-2012!

And here is my list! To pick it, I went to the spreadsheet i have of my to-read books and had random.org give me 12 numbers, then made sure that none were published in 2012.

1. Evermore  by Alyson Noel
2. Yearbook by Ally Condie  Could not finish this one
3. The Walls of the Universe by Paul Melko
4. Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen
5. My Lucky Life in and Out of Show Business by Dick Van Dyke
6.  How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff Could not finish this one
7. Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby
8. Youth in Revolt by C.D. Payne
9. The Longest Trip Home by John Grogan
10. Amazing Gracie by Dan Dye
11. Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon
12. Why We Suck by Denis Leary

Alts
1. Hate List by Jennifer Brown
2. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

3 Responses to “The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge”

  1. I need to do this!

    I really liked ‘Why We Suck’ and ‘Bright Young Things’ isn’t too bad. I wanted to get into ‘How I Live Now’ though and just couldn’t. I feel like I’m missing something with that one.

  2. Laurie C said

    I tried and failed at this challenge for 2012. I hadn’t decided whether to try again in 2013, but you’ve inspired me!

Leave a Reply

 
