Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Read-a-thon mini Reviews part 2

Posted by Caitie F on October 28, 2012

I know it is late, but life has been busy. We are all ready for the hurricane, have our water, food and flashlights. Hope everyone stays safe!

Title: The Golden Compass 
Author: Philip Pullman
Softcover: 368 pages
Pub Date: 1995
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Rating: ++++

Summary: Orphaned ward named Lyra Belacqua life is shattered by the arrival of two powerful visitors. First, her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, appears with evidence of mystery and danger in the far North. He leaves Lyra in the care of Mrs. Coulter who offers to give Lyra the attention her uncle has long refused her. However,nothing is as it seems. Lyra sets out for the top of the world in search of her kidnapped playmate, Roger, bearing a rare truth-telling instrument, the compass of the title. All around her children are disappearing—victims of so-called “Gobblers”—and being used as subjects in terrible experiments that separate humans from their daemons, creatures that reflect each person’s inner being. And somehow, both Lord Asriel and Mrs. Coulter are involved

Review:

I have been wanting to read this series for a really long time. It has been recommended to me countless times and I thought the first book would make the perfect read-a-thon book. I was right.

This book was an incredibly fast read and so full of action and mystery that I had to read it in one sitting. Lyra is an excellent character. She is smart, clever, and courageous. She uses those traits to help others, even when there is danger and naysayers. Her character is actually the main reason I am going to read the rest of the series.

I can’t talk about this book without talking about the Daemons. They are so creative and I kind of wish they were real.

This book is considered a YA book, but I really don’t think it is one. It talks about religion and philosophy in complex and high level ways that many young adults can’t appreciate. Reading it as an adult made me think and question. It is a really great book!

Title:  The Wind in the Willows      
Author: Kenneth Grahame
Hardcover: 208 pages
Pub Year: 1908
Publisher (of my version): Sterling
Rating: ++++

Summary:

 The Wind in the Willows is a classic of magical fancy and enchanting wit. The adventures and misadventures of the book’s intrepid quartet of heroes—Mole, Water Rat, Badger, and, of course, the incorrigible Toad—raise fantasy to the level of myth. Reflecting the freshness of childhood wonder, the story still offers adults endless sophistication, substance, and depth. The animals’ world embodies the author’s wry, whimsical, and unfailingly inventive imagination. It is a world that succeeding generations of both adult and young readers have found irresistible. But why say more? To use the words of the estimable Mr. Toad himself: “Travel, change, interest, excitement!…Come inside.

Review:

I don’t know how I missed this book when I was younger, but I am so glad I read it as an adult! This  was a delightful book full of beautiful writing and an wonderful story. Each character has their own personality and traits that adults and children will enjoy. This would also be a great book to read with a kid as a bedtime story. It really is a book children and adults can enjoy together!

If you are nostalgic for Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride, it is a great way to remember the ride and the story. It made me want to ride the ride again, but alas it isn’t at Walt Disney World anymore!   If you aven’t read this book, or havent’ read it in a while, it is a great story for the entire family!

Title: Drama 
Author: Raina Telgemeier
Paperback: 233 pages
Pub Date: September 1, 2012
Publisher:  GRAPHIX (Scholastic)
Rating: +++

Summary:

Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school’s production of Moon Over Mississippi, she can’t really sing. Instead she’s the set designer for the drama department stage crew, and this year she’s determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn’t know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!

Review:

I am not a big fan of graphic novels. I have tried to like them, i have read the best, but they are not my thing. But this one is about musical theater so i thought I would give it a try.

And it was okay. The story was cute, the art felt appropriate, and it was a fast read. I liked it, but I am still not a big graphic novel fan. I think it would have been a better story as a novel.

My other big issue is that Callie, this HUGE musical theater fan, called a CD based on a musical a Soundtrack. Now, to most people, this is nothing, but as a theater geek, a soundtrack is based on a movie, what she was talking about was a cast recording.  That this mistake was repeated again and again was really annoying and I hope it was caught in the final since I read the ARC. If not, that is just lazy writing and editing.

Other than that, it was perfectly fine, just not really my thing.

Leave a Reply

 
