Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Read-a-thon Wrap Up!

Posted by Caitie F on October 14, 2012

I hope everyone had a fun and successful read-a-thon, I know I did!

Final Stats!

Reading right now: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

Books finished: Seriously, I’m Kidding by Ellen Degeneres, The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame, Calico Joe by John Grisham, Drama by Raina Telgemeier The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman, and The City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Pages read since last update: 628

Total pages read: 1,814

Total time spent reading: 12 hours 20 minutes

Snacks: Dinner – stew, piece of Entemann’s cake

Ll that reading and I am still 6 books behind my goodreads goal for the year!

  • Which hour was most daunting for you?

Hour 9 when I had to take a power nap!

  • Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

I am nto a huge graphic novel fan, but Drama was really good. Ellen’s book was also very funny and I think funny memoir-y type books go really fast!

  • Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

Nope, it was perfect

  • What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

The cheerleaders and hosts were amazing!

  • How many books did you read?

6 and 1/3

  • What were the names of the books you read?

see above

  • Which book did you enjoy most?

Calico Joe

  • Which did you enjoy least?

The one I couldn’t get more than a few pages through.

  • If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

Not one, but they rocked

  • How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

As long as I don’t have plans, i’m totally doing it! I will probably just be a reader again.

 

I wanted to say a special thanks to all of the volunteers who made this such a great event. They were amazing! Also, a special thanks to Dawn at She if Too Fond of Books . She cheered me on through twitter all dya and really gave great encouragement and advice!

Excited to see everyone else’s posts!

6 Responses to “Read-a-thon Wrap Up!”

  1. You had an amazing readathon!

  2. Caryn said

    I can’t imagine reading that many books in one day! Great job–how’d you like The Golden Compass?

    • Caitie F said

      You should participate next time! It was fun! I liked it – it was better than I expected. Will have to read the next book in the series sometime soon.

      • Caryn said

        I enjoyed the series for the most part. Love the idea of daimons! You should check out the movie sometime…I know it didn’t get very good reviews, but I thought it was pretty good.

  3. Jane said

    Good job with your readathon! 6 and 1/3 books is insane!

  4. Laurie C said

    Wow! That’s a lot of reading! I think I would have to sleep most of the next day away to catch up on sleep, so I don’t know if I’d actually get more reading done over the weekend or not. I guess so, because there would be so much dedicated time. Thanks for the update post. They’re fun to read!

Leave a Reply

 
