Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The BFG by Roald Dahl

Posted by Caitie F on October 5, 2012

Title: The BFG
Author: Roald Dahl
Hardcover: 208 pages
Publisher: Puffin Books (Penguin)
Pub Year: 1982
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

Sophie discovers that giants not only exist, but that there are a great many of them who like to guzzle and swallomp nice little chiddlers. But not the Big Friendly Giant. He and Sophie cook up an ingenious plot to free the world of troggle-humping — forever.

Review:

I know I read this as a kid, but I didn’t really remember it and I heard so much gushing over it in the past month, so I had to get it from the library and give it a re-read!

Roald Dahl is the best chapter book author of all time. That is a big statement but if there is anyone who deserves it, it is Dahl. He inspires the imagination while teaching valuable  lessons in a fun and exciting story. He writes amazing characters and is probably the most creative writer.

This book is no different. The language that the BFG uses is funny and he is a great character. The story is funny, sweet, and incredibly imaginative.

I highly recommend giving this to any 8-12 year old in your life. I think it would be a really fun book to read together!

One Response to “The BFG by Roald Dahl”

  1. I don’t know if I’ve ever read this one or not, but I’m sure my son did.

Leave a Reply

 
