Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

Three Mini Reviews!

Posted by Caitie F on August 9, 2012

I have three books that I have finished in the last month and I never got around to reviewing them because I never felt inspired to write out a full review. I would like to share what I thought, so here are three mini reviews with mini summaries.

Title: The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Paperback: 269 pages
Pub Date: June 26, 2012
Publisher: Random House
Rating: +++

Summary: The Earth is slowing and everything is affected. This book follows one 11-year-old girl as she deals with not only the Earth’s sudden changes but her parents fighting, losing friends, and a first love.

Review: This book just felt so eh. I read it less than a month ago and I can’t even remember it all that much (except for her grandfather, his character really stuck with me and gave me emotional reactions).

I really liked that it looked at a natural disaster from the perspective of a regular person and family, it was much different from what we usually see. I also liked seeing how the government reacted and all of the parts of the story actually about the slowing. Everything with Julia was less interesting and the book got very slow towards the middle and the end.

I did enjoy the writing, I just think the book had a lot of potential that it didn’t meet. It almost felt like the author wanted to write and adult book and a young adult book at the same time, which ends up with having a book that is hard to get into.

Title: A Feast For Crows
Author: George R R Martin
Hardcover: 753 pages
Pub Date: October 17, 2005
Publisher: Bantam
Rating: ++

Summary: The fourth Song of Ice and Fire book. With none of your favorite characters.

Review: This book took me SO long to read. I had to force myself to pick it up. The first ⅘ was slow, boring, and mostly about characters I didn’t really care about all that much. Like the Greyjoys – the Kingsmoot was the biggest letdown.

The end picks up and some characters get what is coming to them, but overall this book sucks. So glad it is over and so glad I didn’t wait a few years for this crap!

Title: Dracula
Author: Bram Stoker
Paperback: 448 pages
Pub year: 1865
Rating: +++

Summary: It is Dracula. He is a vampire. He terrorizes people in England and turns some into vampires. People want him dead.

Review: So everyone knows that basic story of Dracula. I have never seen a movie or read the book. but thanks to pop culture I knew the basics.

The basics are, for the most part, better than the book. I did really like HOW the story was told – it is through diaries, journals, and letters. I am a sucker for this kind of storytelling, especially when it is done well and on that aspect,  it is done very well.

The book can be split into thirds. The first third is when Jonathan is at Dracula’s castle and writes in his journal about what is going on. Knowing that Dracula was a vampire made this part quite boring. Yet it was well-told, so I kept going.

The second third is before we see Jonathan again and don’t know what happened to him. In that, his fiancee and her friend exchange letters and then it follows Lucy suitors, sickness. and her death, and Van Helsing appears. This was too long and boring. Could have been cut in half. I almost wanted to stop reading, but I knew it had to get better

The final third is when a bunch of men and one really awesome woman go after Dracula. This was slow at times, but I loved reading about them plotting and planning, so it was fine that it was slower. The climax was quite awesome and makes it a book worth reading.

My one big issue is that I had to remember when this was written and not twitch at every mention of women being weak/not as smart/generally inferior to men. I know it was a time period thing, but it still bugged me, I just can’t help it.

Overall, still glad that 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die made me read this.

5 Responses to “Three Mini Reviews!”

  1. The George R. R. Martin books just don’t appeal to me. Most of the reviews I’ve read of The Age of Miracles said the same thing you did – the book didn’t live up to its potential.

  2. Caryn said

    I loved your mini-summaries…hilarious. “It is Dracula. He is a vampire…”

  3. […] The Time Machine by H G Wells 2. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen 3. Dracula by Bram Stoker 4. The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. […]

  4. […] Three Mini Reviews! (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
