Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

Posted by Caitie F on July 18, 2012

Title: The Wishing Spell
Author: Chris Colfer
Hardcover: 448 pages
Pub Date: 7/17/12
Publisher: Little, Brown for Young Readers
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

Alex and Conner Bailey’s world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairytales.

The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they though

Review:

If you are looking for an excellent middle grade book for boys AND girls, look no further than the amazing and adorable Chris Colfer’s debut novel!

I got so excited about this book when I saw Chris speak at the BEA Children’s Author Breakfast (more about that here) and I was so happy that the book did not disappoint! Colfer is a really good writer and knows how to write for his audience. Yes, there are a lot of similes and metaphors when describing things, but I think that helps kids see a new world more easily.

The actual story is fantastic! I am a huge fairy tale fan and tend to enjoy twists or retellings, especially when they are about what happened after as this book is. I loved that there was a mix of happily ever after and some…not so much. I especially enjoyed the relationship between the outlaw Goldilocks and Red Riding Hood, it was just as drama filled as you would expect!

The main characters of this story are not the characters that we already know and love, Alex and Conner are the main characters. They are really amazing middle grade characters. They are both complex and intelligent. They have a tragedy in their lives that affects everything they do and it is very easy to feel empathy for both of them. They are also not perfect, which made them easy to connect with. Middle grade readers will be able to connect with the personalities of at least one of the twins and it makes the lessons and excitement even greater!

I think this would be a really fun book for adults and readers to read together. There are the lessons that come with the classic fairy tales, but there is a lot of fun and excitement thrown in there too. while there was one major plot point I figured out early on, there were still twists and turns I did not see coming!

This is what middle grade books should be and I am so excited that I got to read it! I highly recommend it to all middle grade readers and the adult in their lives! I am really disappointed I don’t know any 9-14 year olds I can share this book with! I guess I will just have to share it with other adults that will enjoy this book just as much!

2 Responses to “The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer”

  1. I’ve heard Colfer did a fantastic job speaking but I don’t think this book is for me – I’m not crazy about fairy tales or fantasy.

  2. reallysuperneat said

    I’m so excited about this book! I can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

 
