Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Posted by Caitie F on June 29, 2012

Title: Sense and Sensibility 
Author: Jane Austen
Paperback: 562 pages
Pub Date: 1811
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

Sense and Sensibility is one of the best loved of Jane Austen’s novels, populated by great comic creations like Mrs. Jennings, the unscrupulous cad Willoughby, and guileless and artful women. As ever, Austen suffuses her work with great ironic observation and tremendous wit, producing a masterpiece of romantic entanglement that time and a very different set of mores cannot diminish.

Review:

So I watched the movie and really really liked it! It made me much more excited for the book.

And it is a good thing I saw it! There were so many Miss Dashwoods, and Mrs. Dashwoods that I would have been very confused at the beginning if I had not seen the movie!

But onto the book! It took me about 100 pages to really get used to Jane Austen’s writing style enough for it to be more comfortable to read. Once I got used to it, I actually read the book pretty quickly and it was much more enjoyable! I did have to keep reminding myself of the time period though. They were just so polite! Even in their thoughts they were polite! If I had been Elinor, I would have wanted to smack Lucy, yet she does not even think such impolite thoughts!

I loved the sisters so much. They were very different, which made their reactions to everything around them more interesting and entertaining. It was really easy to look for and find the parallels in their lives and courses. It was very easy to cheer for htem because they wre both so nice and caring!

The men were interesting. For some reason, I assumed they would all be stereotypes and boring, but they weren’t! I felt compassion for the, even when they were jerks at times and saw how difficult living in that time period could be for both genders. You couldn’t pay me enough to do it! Personally, I liked Edward the most, but it was hard to get the movie actors out of my mind, which was a little disappointing.

I really did enjoy the book though, and look forward to reading Pride and Prejudice later this year. If you are a fan of retellings of that Austen work, you need to check out The Lizzie Bennet Diaries on Youtube. It is a modern retelling through “video blogs” by Lizzie and her sisters. It is so much fun!

7 Responses to “Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen”

  1. CNJ JASNA said

    If you like Jane Austen I suggest you check out the Jane Austen Society of North America – Central New Jersey Region. We share information on Jane, her books, and adaptations. We’re on Facebook, Twitter and a blog

  2. I read this after seeing the movie and it helped the book make sense to me as well.

  3. […] You Die Challenge Sign Up: 2012 EditionFirefly – Why Did Fox Screw This Up?Happy Birthday to Me!Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen13 Gifts by Wendy Mass « End of the Year Survey! Best Books of 2011! […]

  4. […] Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (caitieflum.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. It was my first Austen and I loved it! […]

  6. […] 2. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen […]

  7. GlennStelt said

    nfl union history https://www.gradeajerseys.net cheap jerseys

Leave a Reply

 
