Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

Posted by Caitie F on June 2, 2012

Title: Guardian of the Gate
Author: Michelle Zink
Hardcover: 352 pages
Pub Date: August 1, 2010
Publisher: Little brown Books for Young Readers
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

The ultimate battle between sisters is nearing, and its outcome could have catastrophic consequences. As sixteen year-old Lia Milthorpe searches for a way to end the prophecy, her twin sister Alice hones the skills she’ll need to defeat Lia. Alice will stop at nothing to reclaim her sister’s role in the prophecy, and that’s not the only thing she wants: There’s also Lia’s boyfriend James.

Review

I adored the first book in this series, Prophecy of the Sisters. It took me a while to get to this one, but it was also really enjoyable, just VERY different. But first things first, this story line is nothing like Buffy Season 5…I don’t think he actually listened to me when I told him about it.

This was a solid second book, although it had the common issue of the middle book, a lot felt like set up for the final book in the trilogy. Yet it wasn’t all of it. A lot happened in this book and it was exciting and moved quickly, though I couldn’t understand all of it. That is a good thing – I have started putting the pieces of the puzzle together and am looking forward to finishing it.

The greatest thing about the book is the writing.Everything about it is stunning. I love the historical setting, I felt like I was back in time when women were not supposed to wear pants and got a little lost in the time period. I love the use of language and the dialogue. There was also a new setting that was even more beautiful than historical Europe. I don’t want to give it away, but it was truly imaginative and unlike anything I have read. It was a joy to read such a beautiful book!

Lia is such a strong female. I adore her courage and kindness. She is also intelligent, which is nice to see. There are people who help her, but she knows that in the end she is on her own, yet doesn’t use that to push her friends away. Sometimes that isn’t a good thing, but it does tell a great story!

My one complaint is that it didn’t have the creepiness factor of the first book. Alice was terrifying and I never knew what she would do or what she was capable of and she was barely in this book. The end made me think that scare factor will be back for the final book, which is very exciting.

This is a truly unique and beautiful series. If you have not started it yet, you should! I need to get to the last book soon, but I don’t want ot because I don’t want it to be over!

 

One Response to “Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink”

  1. I’ve been drawn to this series yet I’m a little leery since it’s not my usual genre. It sounds good, though!

Leave a Reply

 
