Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

  • Subscribe

  • Blog Stats

    • 55,523 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 105 other followers

  • Top Posts

TSS: Reading Series

Posted by Caitie F on May 20, 2012

How is your weekend going? mine has been awesome Went to a Chili Festival yesterday, which was just okay but I still had a good time because of the gorgeous weather. We also went out to dinner with friends and walked around a cool town on a beautiful night. And I finally got an iPhone, so if you have any app recommendations, let me know in the comments! Today, we are running errands and finally seeing The Avengers! I am so excited! Onto bookish things!

Series

So I have been reading A Song of Fire and Ice this year and I really enjoy it (just finished A Storm of Swords, the best book so far), but it has made me think more about series. I love a great series. It allows you to really get to know and connect with characters and it makes me feel more invested in the books when I know there is more to come.

I hate being reading this series how I am though. I am also reading The Mortal Instruments series and am in the middle of what is published with that one too. And I just hate it! I like either reading a series as each book comes out or reading it when it is complete.

If you read a series as each book comes out, you are reading with the other fans. i have two friends at work that also love ASOFAI , one is caught up, one is one book ahead of me. When we talk about it, we all have to be very careful, because none of us want to hear spoilers. It makes it very difficult! Thanks to the internet, I always have to watch myself to make sure I don’t read anything about from a book i am not up to. As someone who loves talking about what I read, this is a challenge and I don’t like it  I also love the community discussion reading as a series comes out brings. I am just so far removed from the discussions that I feel like I am missing out.

I also don’t mind reading a series when it is completely over. Then you can just read the entire thing and not have any waiting. Once I catch up with the series still being published, it is a little irritating. You could read the entire thing at your own pace then suddenly…nope! It isn’t a big deal, but it feels like the story should continue. If it is done, it is also easy to jump right into discussions and talk about the series as a whole.

It really does make me leery of reading any series that aren’t complete yet if there is more than one or two books that I can quickly catch up on.

How do you read series? How do you prefer to read series? Let me know in the comments (and don’t forget to tell me about awesome iPhone apps!)

4 Responses to “TSS: Reading Series”

  1. I love my iPhone but don’t have a lot of apps. One I love when I’m in New York is HopStop.

  2. Laurie C said

    I read series both ways. Two YA ones I’ve been keeping up with pretty much as they come out are The Mortal Instruments and the Gone series by Michael Grant (about 2/3s through Fear now). But I got behind on the Spellman Files books by Lisa Lutz on audio and I’m partway through the fourth (The Revenge of the Spellmans) now and just realized I missed listening to the third (The Spellmans Strike Again). Now I have to get the third one before finishing the fourth. (If I had been listening to them as they came out, this wouldn’t have happened, but it had been so long, I kept thinking that I just didn’t remember all the stuff Izzy, the story’s narrator, kept referring to.)
    As for the ASOFAI, I keep thinking I can get by with just watching the miniseries and skipping the books altogether. It worked for the Sharpe books by Bernard Cornwell!

Leave a Reply

 
