Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin

Posted by Caitie F on May 19, 2012

Title: A Storm of Swords
Author: George R R Martin
Trade Paperback: 1008 pages
Pub Date: October 2000
Publisher: Bantam
Rating: +++++

Summary:

The epic saga continues. A lot of stuff happens. Really you don’t want to know!

Review:

WARNING: THIS REVIEW INCLUDES SPOILERS FROM THE FIRST TWO BOOKS. No book three spoilers, just reactions. Any characters mentioned are in the book as of the beginning.

This is the best one so far! It is the first of his books that I gave a five rating! While I know it is just temporary, this didn’t ramble or go off on annoying tangents or drag and drag like the first two tended to do. There were some long descriptions of food, but they were actaully kind of cool.

The book was incredibly exciting! So much happened! I gasped, cheered, or wanted to throw the book more times that I could count. It was one of those books that I kept saying “just one more chapter” before I could stop. I can’t wait ot see so much of it happen on the TV show!

Here is my favorites list for this book

Favorite Character That I loved Before

This is so hard! I am at a toss up between the three I have from the beginning. Arya, Tyrion, and Jon. They are all very very awesome still for different reasons.

Arya is tough and strong, but still shows some vulnerability, even if she hates it when she does.She is bright, quick on her feet, and ready to stand up for what is right.

Tyrion is getting more and more complex with each book. He is the most intelligent character in the book, but getting treated badly has hardened him, so he still uses his brains and sharp wit to hurt, which I really love because he feels like such a real characters.

And Jon is just amazing. He is strong and is the most like Ned. He focuses on what is right and does everything he can to actually help others. Since i love him so much, I know he will be dead eventually.

Favorite Character that I Didn’t Expect

Brienne. She is all kinds of awesome. I don’t have any complex reasons to love her, she is just a great character. George R R Martin really knows how to write awesome women.

Character I Went From Hating to Liking a Lot

Jaime. I don’t want to let you know why, but he becomes a much more complex guy!

Character I Just Don’t Care About Anymore

Daenerys Her character is just boring now. Some cool stuff happenened, but I just don’t care about it very much 😦

Scene I Can’t Wait to See on te Show

The big thing Tyrion does! It is awesome.

I could go on and om being vague about this epic book but i won’t. It is fantastic though!

 

2 Responses to “A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin”

  1. […] A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin (caitieflum.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Arya, books, Characters in A Song of Ice and Fire, Game of Throne, Game of Thrones, Jaime, Lannister, Major houses in A Song of Ice and Fire, Reviews, Stark, Storm of Swords, World of A Song of Ice and Fire […]

  2. […] A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin. Best book in the series! […]

Leave a Reply

 
