Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Posted by Caitie F on May 11, 2012

Title: City of Glass
Author: Cassandra Clare
Hardcover: 560 pages
Pub Date: March 24, 2009
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Rating: +++

Summary from goodreads:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters — never mind that enter-ing the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadow-hunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadow-hunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City — whatever the cost?

Review:

This is such an enjoyable series. I love the characters and the creativity of the fantasy world. It is unlike anything I have read and I will read the entire series because of that no matter what.

Clare is a fantastic writer. She can do a climax better than most writers, so even when this one got a little slow or predictable, I was still excited to keep reading because I knew it would pay off.

This was my least favorite of the first three books though. There were some events that were supposed to be big twists and a shock, but I saw them coming the second the characters were introduced or even mentioned. From what I have seen online, that was a common issue with this book…that so many readers could see it all coming which did not happen in the first books.

That said, it was still really enjoyable. The end was CRAZY! Getting to see the city was amazing! Readers heard about it again and again was such a cool experience. I felt like I was in the city and it was everything I expected it to be and more.

I really look forward to the next book – if this series interests you even a little, you should read it because she is such a great writer!

2 Responses to “City of Glass by Cassandra Clare”

  1. Laurie C said

    I’m reading City of Lost Souls now. I agree with your review of City of Glass. Wondered if some of the issues arose because The Mortal Instruments had originally been planned as a trilogy, and was then extended. One thing I’m not sure about is that I don’t think anyone could pick up City of Lost Souls and get a real sense of the characters from the beginning of the book; you really need to have read the previous three to know who the characters are.

  2. I haven’t read any of Clare’s work but I went to an event for her and the kids there were so excited when she walked in the room they screamed. Any author who can get kids that excited about books is a winner to me.

Leave a Reply

 
