Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Mini Reviews: Wings and Carrie

Posted by Caitie F on April 24, 2012

Title: Wings
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Softcover:  294 pages
Pub Date: May 1, 2009
Publisher: Harper Teen
Rating: +

Summary from goodreads: When a flower blooms in the middle of her back, Laurel discovers that she is a faerie and was placed with human parents as a child. As Laurel learns about her true background and the dangers that face the faerie realm, she struggles to find her place in both worlds.

Mini Review:

There was so much that bothered me about this book. The foreshadow was incredibly obvious. I could figure out almost every twist in the book from it. The characters were irritating. Everyone was beautiful and looked perfect, a HUGE pet peeve of mine in YA books. Even most of the personalities were perfect, which led to little conflict outside of the main story. It wasn’t funny or cute and it did nothing to make me like faeries…the full faerie character was just irritating.

Maybe it is just a YA book with no crossover at all, but I think even as a teen I would have felt the same way.

Title: Carrie
Author: Stephen King
Paperback:  245 pages
Pub Date April 5, 1974
Publisher:  Signet
Rating: ++                   l

Summary from goodreads:

A modern classic, “Carrie” introduced a distinctive new voice in American fiction — Stephen King. The story of misunderstood high school girl Carrie White, her extraordinary telekinetic powers, and her violent rampage of revenge, remains one of the most barrier-breaking and shocking novels of all time.

Mini Review:

I probably would have enjoyed this more if I didn’t know the entire story already just from absorbing it from pop culture. Since I already knew the story, I was reading it more for style, which I thought was strange, since it goes back and forth between reports and telling what happened. It just didn’t work for me.

If somehow you don’t know the story of Carrie, you may like it more! I just found it and the characters irritating due to expectations.

Well, those were teh clunkers form teh read-a-thon! Hope to review the books I liked later this week!

4 Responses to “Mini Reviews: Wings and Carrie”

  1. I’ve never watched Carrie all in one sitting but I do know the story so I’ll probably skip that one.

  2. Amanda said

    Yeah, Wings wasn’t my favorite either…

    I read Carrie when I was maybe 12 or 13, so I didn’t know anything going it, and I had very mixed feelings about it. I liked it in many ways, but in others, it was a bit too much for me at that age. I’m not sure exactly why my mom let me read it (or other Stephen King) that young, because she was always very outspoken against us reading or watching things that were too old for us, but I guess maybe she didn’t know exactly what was in that one…

    • Caitie F said

      I actually JUST read your review of Wings on goodreads. Should haev just linked to that – you said a lot of what I was thinking.

  3. […] Mini Reviews: Wings and Carrie (caitieflum.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLinkedInStumbleUponPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

 
