Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Dewey’s Read-a-thon!! April 21, 2012

Posted by Caitie F on April 14, 2012

So i am FINALLY participating in this. My parents aren’t coming for a surprise visit, there are no parties next week, nothing. If friends see if we can hang out next Saturday, my answer is “Sorry, I have plans”. It is happening!

To those who don’t know what the read-a-thon is, here is a description:

What is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs about our reading, and visit other readers’ blogs. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey (her blog has since been taken down, so the link won’t work). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

 

Now I won’t be able to do 24 hours. I need sleep. but I plan on participating for at least 12 hours reading and posting. I will post about specific books and goals I have later.

I won’t set an alarm since it is a Saturday, but I will wake up and start reading. I am planning on getting a recipe for pot roast so it is something that will be cooking all day.

Can’t wait to participate and I hope some of you will be too!

2 Responses to “Dewey’s Read-a-thon!! April 21, 2012”

  1. Linda said

    Yay! I’ll be reading too.

  2. Amanda said

    This will be the first readathon I cant’ participate in since I first started in April of 2009. That makes me a bit sad. :/

Leave a Reply

 
