Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Posted by Caitie F on April 12, 2012

Title: Stardust 
Author: Neil Gaiman
Softcover: 250 pages
Pub Date: October 1998
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Rating:  ++++

Summary from goodreads:

Hopelessly crossed in love, a boy of half-fairy parentage leaves his mundane Victorian-English village on a quest for a fallen star in the magical realm. The star proves to be an attractive woman with a hot temper, who plunges with our hero into adventures featuring witches, the lion and the unicorn, plotting elf-lords, ships that sail the sky, magical transformations, curses whose effects rebound, binding conditions with hidden loopholes and all the rest

Review:

I am a big Neil Gaiman fan. He is a fantastic writer and an even more amazing person. I am slowly reading through all of his books. Some I love, some I think are just eh. This is much closer to the love side.

Fairy tales are among my favorite things. I watch Once Upon a Time when it is on. I rush out to see every Disney movie and most fairy tale adaptions. The style, the complex ideas, and the beauty of the worlds are just some of the great aspects in a good fairy tale.

Stardust is a good fairy tale. I love the world on the other side of the Wall. It was so rich and beautiful with a world that is even more complex than our own. There are witches, fairies, princes, and so much more. When reading it, you are taken into the world and it is very east to forget our own.

If you are looking for a fun story with beauty and imagination, you should check out this book. There isn’t much more to say – it is just something you should read!

3 Responses to “Stardust by Neil Gaiman”

  1. Amanda said

    I really enjoyed this one! I haven’t liked Gaiman’s adult fiction so much – except Good Omens with Terry Pratchett, which is my fav – but I have loved his YA and children’s stuff, and this is my favorite of them.

  2. I feel the same way about Gaiman’s books – some I’ve read are masterpieces, others are just okay. I’m glad to know this one’s good.

  3. […] innocent Man by John Grisham 2. Youth in Revolt by C. D. Payne 3.  Stardust by Neil Gaiman 4. Plan B by Jenny O’Connell 5. A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver by E.L. Konigsburg […]

Leave a Reply

 
