Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Posted by Caitie F on April 11, 2012

Title: Insurgent
Author: Veronica Roth
Hardcover: 525 pages
Pub Date: May 1, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:
One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

Review:

This is spoiler-free with just general thoughts. I promise.

I thought Divergent was an okay book. Not perfect, but a fun and interesting read. So when I had the chance to read the sequel early, I took it!

And wow it was better than the first. So much of the time, especially in a trilogy, the second book is slow or it all feels like setup. Second books are usually my least favorite. Not so much here.

It is more exciting than the first. It is even darker and bleaker than the first. There are times I wanted to punch a character in the face and times that I wanted to console them and tell them it was all okay. I felt much more attached to the characters this time. Still wanted more Christina though – for some reason I find her fascinating and I wish we saw more of her. But that is a minor complaint.

There was also still some dialogue that made me roll my eyes. Yet not as much and it wasn’t as bad.

There was more philosophy in this one, some of it on the surface as Tris and others make hard decisions, but also a lot of it that will have you thinking long after you finish the book. It isn’t the small question of “which faction would I choose” it is more “How would the world best work? How can the shades of grey fit into our own world”. This book makes you think if you let it, and I really suggest you let it.

But the best part. The absolute best part. The end. I won’t tell you anything about it but just WOW. I read it three times. My mouth dropped. I actually exclaimed “WHAT?”. It was crazy. It was better than I could have asked for. Suddenly, I got just got it. Complaints I had about plotting in the first book were a little less. The world-building made more sense. Why they had the factions was perfectly clear. Hell, the leaders in Erudite’s evilness made a little sense (but only a little. They crossed the line, but their way of thinking was more clear).

I know that is all very vague, but I want you to enjoy the surprise as much as I did. But when you read it, come find me on twitter, or goodreads, or send me an email at pubwrites@gmail.com. Because I NEED to talk to people about this book!

Let me know what you thought about it in the comments!

3 Responses to “Insurgent by Veronica Roth”

  1. Linda said

    Thank you for being vague. I’m anxiously awaiting this one from the library. I really liked Divergent and I’m glad to hear Insurgent is great too.

  2. I agree with you about second books – they’re usually the slowest in a trilogy. I love that this one isn’t.

  3. […] is already out – Insurgent by Veronica Roth. This one was also the ending. It took the book up an entire star because it was so awesome and […]

Leave a Reply

 
