Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Dark Tower by Stephen King

Posted by Caitie F on March 23, 2012

Title: The Dark Tower
Authors: Stephen King
Hardcover: 845 pages
Pub Date:  Sept 21, 2004
Publisher: Scribner
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

Roland’s ka-tet remains intact, though scattered over wheres and whens. Susannah-Mia has been carried from the Dixie Pig (in the summer of 1999) to a birthing room—really a chamber of horrors—in Thunderclap’s Fedic; Jake and Father Callahan, with Oy between them, have entered the restaurant on Lex and Sixty-first with weapons drawn, little knowing how numerous and noxious are their foes. Roland and Eddie are with John Cullum in Maine, in 1977, looking for the site on Turtleback Lane where “walk-ins” have been often seen.

They want desperately to get back to the others, to Susannah especially, and yet they have come to realize that the world they need to escape is the only one that matters.

Review:

It took me so long to finish this series. So long in fact, that there is another book coming. It doesn’t add anything to the end of the series and is more like the fourth book and is a prequel. So in a way I am glad I waited so that I know there is more coming in April!

This book also took me a long time to read. It started off great, but then dragged for about 100 pages (the only reason it is getting four stars and not five) and it took me longer than a week to read that chunk because I wasn’t excited. Luckily, it picked up and when i got to the end it was hard to put down —  I read the last 300 pages in just a few days!

This is a huge epic series so you would expect it to have a huge epic ending. And you would be right. Stephen King was back in the story which I still was not crazy about. I understand why and think it sort of fits…but at the same time it still felt egotistical and tacky (and do not get me started on his letter at the end. I love the guy, but he was kind of a jerk. And a lia)

But I digress. This story has always been an epic journey, but it has always be grounded in great characters to root for, terrifying bad guys to root against, and a look into humanity that is rarely done so well in fiction.

I feel like I knew these characters so well, especially those in the ka-tet. I won’t give details, but you will probably cry during this book. And don’t tell me that was a spoiler because if you have read any of these books, you knew not all could survive. With the sadness also came beauty and wonder…and some comic relief.

I will not give away the ending, but I actually really liked it. I have seen many instances of people not liking it, but I thought it was appropriate and  really well done.

All in all, it was a great ending to a series that I have thoroughly enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

 
