Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Posted by Caitie F on March 13, 2012

Title: City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Hardcover: 453 pages
Pub Date: March 25, 2008
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
Rating: ++++

Summary from goodreads:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Review:

This review will contain spoilers for the first book in the series

I really enjoyed City of Bones and I was very excited to read the next book in the series. My expectations were high and I was not disappointed.

I was pleasantly surprised with how Clare handled the Jace/Clary relationship. Finding out that someone you are attracted to is your sibling can’t be easy and I don’t think the feelings would disappear instantly. I am afraid it would turn that way and enjoyed watching both characters try to resist it all and figure out how to become siblings. Speaking of strange relationships, Simon is still an interesting one. He is the guy Clary feels like is her brother but wants to be more. And it is weird and uncomfortable (at least to me). But his arc in this book is great and I have a lot more interest in his character for the coming books.

There are two aspects that keep me reading in regards to the world building and the plot

1. What Shadowhunters do. The runes are awesome. The weapons are awesome. Jace and Clary’s special powers are like nothing I have read and I love it. I want to know more and see more. It is so different from other fantasy ideas and almost every fantasy creature exists in the world. There are limitless possibilities and watching everything trying to work with and against each other adds another excited and unpredictable layer.

2. Valentine. Holy crap what an awesome villain. He is Voldemort level scary and evil. He is willing to hurt his own kids or let others hurt them. He is manipulative and had this Shadowhunter supremacy that will remind any reader of a certain dictator. I never know what he is doing or how far he will go which makes every page more enthralling.

This book was awesome. I want to dive into the next one, but I have a few more books on my list to read before I get to it.

2 Responses to “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare”

  1. It sounds like Clare is a talented writer. I need to try her work soon.

  2. Laurie C said

    I like these books in the Mortal Instruments series, too, and am looking forward to City of Lost Souls coming out May 8th.

Leave a Reply

 
