Pub Writes

About the publishing Industry, editorials, and reviews

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Posted by Caitie F on February 26, 2012

Title: The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Softcover: 372 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Pub Date: July 3, 2002
Rating: +++++

Summary from goodreads:

The Lovely Bones is the story of a family devastated by a gruesome murder — a murder recounted by the teenage victim. Upsetting, you say?

The details of the crime are laid out in the first few pages: from her vantage point in heaven, Susie Salmon describes how she was confronted by the murderer one December afternoon on her way home from school. Lured into an underground hiding place, she was raped and killed. But what the reader knows, her family does not. Anxiously, we keep vigil with Susie, aching for her grieving family, desperate for the killer to be found and punished.

There is a heaven that’s calm and comforting, a place whose residents can have whatever they enjoyed when they were alive — and then some. But Susie isn’t ready to release her hold on life just yet, and she intensely watches her family and friends as they struggle to cope with a reality in which she is no longer a part

Review:

This book has literally been on my shelf for years. I have wanted to read it since I bought it, but for some reason I was never in the mood. I found the sudden urge to read it and I wish I had done it sooner.

There was so much hype around this book and it seemed like it could never live up to it. But somehow it did. The writing is absolutely beautiful. There were sentences that I would read more than once since they were so moving and perfectly written.

The story broke my heart, which I knew it would. Yet it was so well formulated and told with such great pacing that i never felt the sadness of it all, I felt the suspense and the beauty instead of the grief.

Though at the same time, the grief was also one of the most realistic portrayals I have seen. I know some people that have lost a child and they went through similar emotions and situations. It is not something that you can ever get over and Sebold showed that completely and in a way unlike any I have seen.

It is a great book to get lost in. I kept trying to read just one more chapter and 50 pages later, finally put it down to do other things. It was so easy to be invested in the characters and their needs and wants that it was hard to come back to my own.

This may be one of those perfect books. There was nothing to dislike. Nothing that bugged me or felt like it wasn’t good enough. It was just amazing and my own words can’t describe the beauty of this book.

Did you read it way back when every one else read it? What did you think? I look forward to bumping the movie to the top of my Netflix queue!

2 Responses to “The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold”

  1. […] David McCullough 2. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. I read this years ago and liked it but didn’t love it as much as the friend who thrust it into my hands did. I did love the movie though.

Leave a Reply

 
